Skip to Main Content

AMD 419 Research to Production

Guide to artist research (Arnold, Fall 2020)

Contemporary museum collections

The Broad (Los Angeles)

California African American Museum (Los Angeles)

Craft Contemporary (Los Angeles)

Human Resources Gallery (Los Angeles)

Institute of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles)

Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions

Los Angeles County Museum of Art/LACMA

Museum of Contemporary Art/MoCA (Los Angeles)

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego

Museum of Modern Art (New York City)

New Museum (New York City)

The Tate Modern (London, UK)

Venice Bienniale (not a museum, but one of the world’s most prestigious contemporary art fairs)

Whitney Museum (New York City)

Other image collections

These image collections and digital archives span multiple eras of art history. Use them to build your vocabulary of techniques, processes, materials, and influences. Some of the search tools allow you to refine by materials, style or technique used.

Image collections

Artnet (art auction site, browse artists for images)

Getty Museum

Google Street Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art

Metropolitan Museum of Art Image Collection

Mingei Museum (San Diego)

Museum of Modern Art image collection

National Gallery of Art image collection

Open Image Collection from the British Library

Rijksmuseum image collection

Saatchi Gallery

Digital archives

Cooper-Hewitt Design Museum

Documents of Latin American and Latino Art (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston)

Hammer Museum Digital Archives (UCLA)

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Los Angeles Public Library Digital Collections

New York Public Library Digital Collections  Prints, photographs, maps, ephemera from the collection of NYPL

Political posters from the collection of the Oakland Museum of California

Redcat Gallery Exhibition Archives (CalArts)

South Asian American Digital Archive

Ubuweb (multidisciplinary avant-garde)

Video Databank (video art)

Other tools

Try searching for new vocabulary in these online thesauri to explore materials, techniques, genres, and movements. The more words you can use to describe what you’re interested in, the wider your search becomes.

The Tate Museum's Glossary of Art Terms

The Getty Institute's Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online