Skip to Main Content
Library Hours and Events
Contact Us »
Ask Us Options
Library Services Help
: (760) 750-4391
: (760) 750-4348
: (760) 239-5106
CSUSM Home Page
Student Technology Help Desk
Books & More
Find a Database
Find a Specific Article
Pay Library Fines
Group Study Room Reservations
Services for Distance Learners
USU computer lab (2nd floor of Kellogg Library)
Services for Community and Alumni
Unavailable at this time
24/5 Zone - Unavailable at this time
Citation Style Guides
Ask a Librarian
Find Your Librarian
Getting Started in the Library
Teaching and Learning Department
Library Research Award
Visiting the University Library
Map & Directions
Community & Alumni
Policies and Statements
Collections, Delivery and Access
Library Technology Initiatives and Development
Teaching and Learning
History 301 -- Adamiak
Search this Guide
How to find primary and secondary sources in the CSUSM Library collections and beyond.
Evaluating Secondary Sources
Books (secondary source)
Articles (secondary source)
Primary Source Types
Primary Source Collections
Primary Source Catalog Search
Books on the Internet
Getting Full Text Materials
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
Library Resources During COVID
Helpful Links for History
Recommended to set up a cloud-based account although download to your computer is promoted by the site.
We may have the book through the catalog or get it for you through Interlibrary Loan
Set Google Scholar Preferences to access CSUSM content.
Google Scholar Preferences
To set up: click on Library Links, type California State University San Marcos, select and save. Recommended to de-select World Cat. You may need to enable cookies to retain this setting.
Zoom (CSUSM users)
Instructions for install and use. Technical issues? Call IITS Student Help 760-750-4790
Student IITS Help
Assistance with passwords and tech issues.
Support outside the classroom because we care.
Readings on Oral History
Oral History Association
OHA Statement on Ethics
Mary Larson, “Steering Clear of the Rocks: A Look at the Current State of Oral History Ethics in the Digital Age,”
The Oral History Review
40, no. 1 (November 2019): 36-49.
Oral History Society: Is Your Oral History Legal and Ethical?
Written for the United Kingdom, these guidelines still apply to US historians.
Current Issues in Archival Sciences
Issues Facing Archives
(Northern Arizona University, part of a larger site "Days of Archives: A Real-Life Soap Opera")
The Challenges Facing Archivists in the 21st Century
(UCLA interview with the book's author)
rippin’ over the color line: the invisibility of race in library and information studies
by Todd Honma
"Just a Bunch of Bigots
" by Frank Bowles (about collecting controversial material)
“Documenting the Black Lives Matter Movement in Baltimore through Contemporary Collecting: An Initiative of the National Museum of African American History and Culture.”
Handbooks/Guides in the CSUSM Library
Doing Oral History
Donald A. Ritchie
Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Handbook with chapters on pre-interview, the interview process, and post-interview.
Oral History Theory
Publication Date: 2016-03-07
Discussion of principles and theories in oral history. Note there is an earlier edition as well in the library collection.
Donna M. Deblasio
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Guide on collecting community-based history.
Interviewing in Community Oral History
Mary Kay Quinlan; Nancy MacKay; Barbara W. Sommer
Publication Date: 2016-06-16
Guide on community oral history.
Archivist for Special Collections
Your Library Account
Ask a Librarian
Writing Center (CSUSM)
Internet Searching >>
Feb 3, 2022 3:52 PM
Login to LibApps