Contact the History Librarian
Primary Sources
The Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using states "Primary sources are the evidence of history, original records or objects created by participants or observers at the time historical events occurred..."
When searching for a primary source, consider the best words to use, and how close you need to be to the source. Using our example topic, you can start with:
salem witch trials
But I think this might be better:
salem and witch
Using these two words will give you items that are about the witch hunt that don't use the word trials.
Try different combination of words and keep track of what works and what doesn't. It may take some time to find the best words for your topic.
These are some possible categories/formats of materials you might find. Of course, technologies available at the time of the event will determine some categories. Film newsreels are not going to be found if you are searching the Dark Ages for primary images. Instead you will find photographs of such such as paintings, carvings or tapestries.
- Newspapers
- Memoir
- Diary or diaries
- Letters (note the term 'Correspondence' is the LoC subject heading subdivision)
- Maps
- Personal narrative (this is a LoC subject heading subdivision)
- Journal (not the scholarly publication, but more like a diary)
- Government reports and publications
- Oral history transcriptions
Image or sound file
- Photographs/slides/prints (may be of items such as paintings)
- Paintings and drawings
- Newsreels
- Television shows
- Newscasts
- Music recordings and videos
- Oral history recordings
Realia (objects)
- Artwork
- Buildings
- Toys and games
- Clothing
- Furniture
- Souvenirs
- Scrapbooks
- Ephemera (items created for short-term or one-time use such as flyers, brochures, ticket stubs)
The CSUSM Library has a number of databases that will be useful to find both visual and written primary sources. Databases and websites below will have both written and visual sources, unless otherwise noted.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
- U.S. History Primary Source TimelineCOVERAGE: 1600s-1968
Explore important topics and moments in U.S. history through historical primary sources from the Library of Congress.
** Contains both written and visual sources
- Archive of AmericanaCOVERAGE: 1728-1900A set of collections of digital documents representing American history and the growth of the nation.** Best for written primary sources.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set MapsCOVERAGE: 1817-1980Early maps created in Congressional business are included in the U.S. Serial Set database, but most are to be found in this collection.** Maps are visual primary sources
- JSTORCOVERAGE: 1838-2019Use the "Images" search to find historical images back to the 19th century.** Search or browse for images.
Primary Sources in Books
For older time periods, books can be an excellent place to find primary sources. These include legal papers, letters, diaries, or images.
To search for books, use the Books & More tab on the Library's homepage:
Use topic words combined with primary source words. The word "sources" will give you books that are a collection of different types of primary sources.
Newspapers
Newspaper articles can be great primary sources. Most students can find at least one newspaper article on their topic.
Search for news articles
- Choosing keywords for news articles can be tricky. You can try names, places or events an usually find something. Using general topic keywords may require you to use the date range limiter to get news articles from the correct time period.
- The words used to describe your topic during the time period, might be different from the words we use today. It can be helpful to start with secondary sources and learn the vocabulary of your topic from the time period.
Select one of the news databases below based on your topic and time period.
- America's Historical NewspapersUnited States newspapers including African American and Hispanic American interests. Languages other than English include Spanish and a limited number in French and German. Coverage starts in the early 18th century for most papers.
- New York Times (Historical Collection)The New York Times Historical Collection provides full page and article images including the NY Daily Times (1851-1857). The most recent four years not included in this historical collection can be searched through ProQuest Direct, LexisNexis or Factiva.
- Los Angeles Times (Historical)Archival issues and articles beginning with 1881. Issues published during the past twenty-four years are not available in this database. Check ProQuest or Factiva databases for the material not held in this collection.
- San Diego Union Newspaper ArchiveCollection of newspapers published in San Diego under various titles, including the San Diego Union, from 1872-1992.
Sample Citations, using Chicago Style
Samples taken from the online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. Citations are linked to the section in the CMS for more explanation and examples.
See the list of example citations on the Chicago Manual of Style website.
Written Primary Sources
Newspaper
Letters
Visual Primary Sources
Map
Paintings, Sculptures
Photograph
Video or Podcast