Skip to Main Content
Data and GIS Resources for Story Mapping
ArcGIS (CSUSM)
Build interactive web maps with ArcGIS Online, Esri's web-based mapping software. Gain new perspectives and enhanced details as you interact with data, zoom in, and search on the map. Use smart, data-driven mapping styles and intuitive analysis tools to gain location intelligence. Share your insights with specific groups or the entire world.
ArcGIS Living Atlas
ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World is the foremost collection of geographic information from around the globe. It includes maps, apps, and data layers to support your work.
Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal
The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps. Learn more about the research institutions involved and the sources of the geospatial records.
David Rumsey Map Collection
This is a database of historical maps from a variety of
times and places. These can be used as images in the side panel or be georeferenced and
used as the basemap for students to plot their points over.
IPUMS Population Data
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
John M. Borchert Map Library
Specializes in cartographic collections and geospatial services that support research and instruction. The Map Library also contains unique collections of cartographic materials related to Minnesota.
SimplyAnalytics (requires CSUSM login)
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based analytics and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports. The first time you access SimplyAnalytics, click the 'Create an account' link and create your account, which will enable you to login, save and organize your research in a personalized account. CSUSM's license is limited to 10 concurrent users.
UMedia Archive
Discover 190,864 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
