Skip to Main Content

History 301 - Zaldivar

Course guide for HIST 301 Spring 2021.

Article databases

We have a robust collection of digital scholarly journals in a number of databases. Not every database in the collection is going to be useful for historical research but will give you something based on your search term! Save yourself time and effort by searching the most relevant/history-specific collections, you will be glad you did.

If you find an article that is not full text, check the Getting Full Text Materials page for how to obtain a copy. It may be available using either GET IT (from another of our databases), or through Digitization on Demand (DoD) from another library, which is part of our traditional Interlibrary Loan service. We are committed to getting you what you need! 

Here are recommendations for where to start: 

Highest Recommendation due to content and special search features: 

America: History & Life covers United States history from the 15th century on. Canada and Mexico are included to a lesser extent. 

Historical Abstracts is the companion to America: History and Life, covering the rest of the world.

 

Also Useful: 

JSTOR has a large collection of history studies journals. In some cases, because there is content as far back as 1838, earlier articles might serve as primary sources. 

Project Muse has some titles that duplicate JSTOR but also has unique content not found elsewhere. 

 

Other databases to search with some history-focused content: 

Sage Journals Online Choose the Social Sciences & Humanities collection to focus your results.

Academic Search Ultimate Not all content will be scholarly or peer-reviewed, so you need to be selective. 

Wiley Online Library Scroll down to the Humanities group to focus on history journal results. 

 

Subject-focused databases may have some history-relevant content such as Women's Studies International, Art Full Text, and Communication and Mass Media Complete. Ask for assistance in narrowing your choices. 

Searching Article Databases

Much of the search demonstrated in the video is common to any database, but America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts have the additional search feature of limiting to historical period rather than publication date.  

Searching Articles+

This is a multi-database search covering almost all our databases and returns the most results when you want to retrieve a wide range of material. Since not all databases work the same way or offer the same advanced search options, this method eliminates several useful tools such as the handy 'historical period' option available in America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts

The search results may contain citations to materials we do not have in full text. You can request those items using the GET IT link to complete an Interlibrary Loan request. (Free, and you won't have to return.)

Special Collections & History Librarian

Profile Photo
Judith Downie
Contact:
KEL 5010 (when we can meet F2F)
760-750-4374 (For the duration of the shutdown, it is best to email jdownie@csusm.edu)
Website
Contact: Instagram Page