General Notes on Researching Industry
The library provides a range of resources for industry reports. Below are several premium subscription resources. Always use library links, and also log-in with your library links for off-campus access to our databases.
A company can be operating in several different industries.
Example: Sony
Video Game Software Publishing
Recordable Media Manufacturing
Video Game developers
Video Games
Depending on the database selected there may be more than one report relevant to your research. This is very relevant to using our IBISWorld subscription database.
Researching Electric Vehicles? There may be more than one industry report relevant to your research needs.
- Look to see if there is a report on automobile & light truck manufacturing in the US
- Then conduct research to see if there is a narrower report on Hybrid & Electric Vehicle Manufacturing in the US
- If your company competes globally - look to see if there is a Global Industry report on automobile & Light truck manufacturing
IBISWorld
-
IBISWorld Industry ResearchIndustry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.
Keyword search or use NAICS code (IBISWorld Reports uses 5 digits of a 6 digit NAICS code).
Reports beginning with OD - are "specialized reports," often they cover a smaller section of an industry.
Some industries will provide 5 digits of a NAICS code plus a letter, for example 51121e- Video Game Software Publishing in the US
Official Help from IBISWorld - Must be logged into the library to view information
Industry Research Reports (Video and information of sections)
-
Using Porter’s Five Forces to Develop Business StrategiesIndustry Insiders articles by Kiera Outlaw, Jul 20 2020. Covers that IBISWorld reports are aligned with the Five Forces Model.
Business Market Research Collection ( by ProQuest)
-
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Business Source Premier (by EBSCO)
-
Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Contains Marketline Reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Note: Pay attention to dates for currency as some reports could be older.
To access the help information, and tutorials below you must be logged into the library.
ABI/INFORM Complete (by ProQuest)
-
ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and countries reports. Among the potential useful reports are:
Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports
Fitch Solutions Industry Insight Reports
Fitch Solutions Risk Reports
Locate US Industry & Market Reports; publisher Barnes Reports
Locate Worldwide Industry and Market Reports; publisher Barnes Reports
Looking for more on how to use this and other ProQuest databases visit the following Course Guide. Listed on here are PPTX slides, recorded learning modules, sample searches, etc.
Factiva
-
Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
Navigate the top level menu to Companies/Markets and use the dropdown to Industry. Click on major headings (covers large industries) for a one page industry snapshot. From Industry pane see companies, subjects, regions, and news. You can also use the search builder to locate news on an industry.
