Ask Us Options |
Research Help |
Library Services Help |
|---|---|---|
Chat |
|
|
|
|
Email Form | Email Form |
Call/Text |
Call: (760) 750-4391 | Call: (760) 750-4348 |
Aggregated search engine for images licensed under Creative Commons
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digital collections from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
Public image portal aggregating digital collections from cultural institutions around Europe.
Search through photos from public photo archives.
Royalty-free (meaning you don’t have to pay to use them) stock photography. The general site is also a wealth of images for perusal and inspiration. “Creative” means artistic, “Editorial” is photojournalism.
“a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.” Includes the Wayback Machine, a search engine to web pages of the past.
Cooperatively-run photo agency started in 1947 and representing documentary photographers from all over the world.
Online encyclopedia of symbols
UCSD Library’s AMAZING guide to image sources. Sources marked with padlock icons are proprietary databases we may not have access to.
University of Washington’s guide to searching for images by subject.
Some of the recommendations are region-specific (Tacoma, Washington, and the Pacific Northwest), and may not be relevant. Also be aware that the sources marked with padlock icons are proprietary databases that we don’t have access to (ArtStor and UW Image Bank).
Wellcome Collection (select “Images” tab above the search bar)
“Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library connecting science, medicine, life and art.” Free, downloadable images from Wellcome Library and Museum collections, including paintings, illustrations, and photos.
Freely usable media files contributed by users.
