Ask Us Options |
Research Help |
Library Services Help |
|---|---|---|
Chat |
|
|
|
|
Email Form | Email Form |
Call/Text |
Call: (760) 750-4391 | Call: (760) 750-4348 |
Just because and article is published does not mean it is quality. Many spaces on the web are spaces where questionable information can and is published, waiting for "information consumers."
Author(s) - Does the author have the “right” to write about this topic.
Owner/Sponsor - If there was no author, read the ABOUT US section of the website. What is the mission, vision, purpose of the article/site/information? If you can’t figure our author OR Owner - do NOT use the information.
Currency - In business currency it key. Use information that is as current as possible to help understand where an industry, business, company, market, may be going/headed.
Quality - how is the information reviewed? Is there an editor, peer-review process, some check on quality? Do they cite their sources (note - lookup cited sources for quality check).
Purpose - What is the intention of the site? To inform, persuade, to sell, or some other purpose? Does the site have an inordinate number of ads, cookies, etc. - why do you think this is?
WOOPS- Examples of sources that do not meet the mark.
Open up one and see if you can see where these might not “meet the mark.”
Do NOT use sources of this nature: sites like this are not credible, authoritative, unlike content from premium library subscription databases!
| Tips | Examples |
| Use keywords, not long search phrases |
Instead of searching for "How is legislation impacting the production of electric vehicles? break down your search into the main keywords: legislation, impact, production, Electric vehicles |
|
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together Use AND to combine different keywords |
legislation AND "electric vehicles" |
| Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords | (EV OR "electric vehicles") |
| Look for ways to limit your search in the database | You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publication, subject |
The library has electronic access to business news and journals. Make sure to always log-in to the library for full access.
Visit the library's News & Newspapers Research Guide
Databases providing Business News sources:
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
