Business (Company)

Currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff have the ability to access library resources. Reminder: Off-campus access to library resources requires your campus username and password. For more see our FAQ on off-campus access

Scroll down on this page for a selection of databases for researching company with a Global emphasis. Resources below provide company profiles, reports, and snapshots, Some of these resources also provide options to search for news related to a company. There is also a guide for Business News for your reference. 

Several means to locate information on companies within this resource. Below is showing use of this resource for company reports. 

• Company reports (by Marketline formerly Datamonitor). 

• Marketline has company reports for: United States, Japan, United Kingdom, China, India, Canada, Germany, South Korea, Australia, & France.

Search Tip for locating company reports. Click ADVANCED SEARCH (under the single search bar)

• Next enter the Keyword Marketline on line #1, then
  Add in one of the geographic locations covered by Marketline (see above for countries) to narrow results
  type in the name of your company and hit search

Alternative options for searching for a company profile.

Use the advanced search.
Use the "limit your results" section for publication type - select company profile. 
Enter the name of your company in EITHER the search bar (top) or in the "limit your results" section for Company.

Mergent Market Atlas provide Global company coverage.

Search Tips:

Mergent Market Atlas allows searching by name of company or with a symbol.

• Leverage other options such as selecting the Exchange on which the symbol trades. 

Use the ICB (industry classification benchmark) to identify companies in an industry within a region.

• Example - select region, then click on the sector/industry. Example United Kingdom with Health care opened and pharmaceuticals selected. Top left click view results - to find public companies in that industry, incorporated in that Country..

Seach tips: Use the advanced search feature in ABI/Inform.

Use Either the company/organization option for entering the company name, or opt to enter the terms on the top search bar. Use the document type to select - Company Profile. 

Researching Private companies, you may also want to add in a search of  Private company research reports (a source within ABI/Inform)

'Currently, we cover about 65,000 Private Companies from 34 countries. We are steadily building up our cover. The articles vary in response to the data available. Triggers are broadly the companies’ own Releases, which we supplement with our research on its corporate profile, including its activities, ID and contacts, its Financials (where disclosed), its recent previous releases over a trailing period (dependent upon the number) and its top management." (Souce: Newsbitesfinance).

Search tip: To search to see if a company has a Snapshot 
Use the top menu to select Company/Markets then select Company

Company Identifiers (from Factiva)

 While not directly searchable in the Factiva Search Builder, DUNS numbers are searchable in the Companies/Markets tab. Ticker symbols are sourced and mapped to the profiles from the internal market data database and are searchable in Factiva Search Builder using the co= field tag and in Companies/Markets tab.

Fantastic insights on consumer products, large companies, channels, consumers, & economies 

Notes on use of this database: CSUSM Student USE Only. You must agree to terms and conditions before entering the database.

There are different menus, approaches to access data, analysis, and dashboards. Write down the steps to use to obtain your information!

TOP MENU APPROACH

Searching an industry?  Step #1 Click Industries, Step #2 Select a category (Consumer products, Services, or Supply). Step #3 From the new page shown, scroll down and use the "Country Reports Datagraphic" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.

Interested in Economies?
Step #1 Click Economies, Step #2 Select a category (Business Dynamics, Economies, finance, and trade, Industrial, or sustainability). 
Step #3 From the new page scroll down to locate the "Country Reports" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.

Interested in Consumers?
Step #1 Click Consumers, Step #2 Select a category (Digital Consumers, Households, Income and Expenditure, Lifestyles, Population).
Step #3 From the new page scroll down to locate the "Country Reports" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.
 

Videos and Help