Ask Us Options |
Research Help |
Library Services Help |
|---|---|---|
Chat |
|
|
|
|
Email Form | Email Form |
Call/Text |
Call: (760) 750-4391 | Call: (760) 750-4348 |
| Scholarly (peer-reviewed, academic) | Authoritative | Popular | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Audience | other scholars/researchers | everyone | everyone |
| Vocabulary | specialized language of the field, "jargon" | professional language | common language |
| Structure | very structured (abstract, intro, methods, conclusion, bibliography) | can be structured for clarity | more story-like, shorter with minimal headings |
| Sources | many sources in the bibliography | sometimes includes a few sources or footnotes | no bibliography |
| Review | blind reviewed by other scholars | fact checked by the organization | sometimes reviewed by an editor |
| Examples | American Journal of Dance Therapy, Dance Chronicle, Dance Research, Arts Education Policy Review, Journal of Dance Education, Choreographic Practices | Contact Quarterly, Dance Magazine, Writings on Dance, Pulse: South Asian Music and Dance | all your favorite social media sources |
| Author(s) | scholar(s) | experts or reputable organizations | non-experts or journalists |
When we say "expert" in the context of authoritative information, we mean information that has been conceived, created, and published by knowledgeable practitioners, creators, scholars, and commentators. Consider the experience of the person or people behind the source. Look at the editorial board of a magazine or website – are they dancers or dance scholars themselves? Or are they generalist writers and editors who are paid to create content?
are created as close to the original moment or phenomenon as possible. They could be original creative work, the historical record of a particular event, original data – all evidence of how something happened without interpretation or commentary. Common examples are performances, scripts, letters, diaries, music scores, material culture like clothing, interview transcripts, autobiographies.
are works use primary sources in order to analyze or interpret an event or phenomenon. Examples of these are books, journal articles, editorials, documentaries, criticism.
are used to organize and locate primary and secondary sources. These could be indexes, encyclopedias, bibliographies, or databases.
