Communicatio & Media Studies Librarian
Media Uses & Effects Resources
For this portion of the research assignment, you'll need to find scholarly work regarding your technology. In some cases, this may come from any discipline. You can start with the databases I suggest for communication, but you might consider looking at other disciplines as well. For example, who might be studying the social experiences people have in regards to your particular technology? Most likely, it'll be sociologists. In addition to the databases below, check the list of Research Databases we have and choose one based on who could be studying your technology.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteProvides abstracts and full text for more than 200 communication journals.
- PsycINFOAvailable via EbscoHost: A comprehensive international database of psychology, covering the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
- PubMed @ CSUSMThe premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
- Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Academic Search PremierThis scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
What is a scholarly article?
A scholarly article is how researchers (scholars) communicate the findings and analysis of their research. Scholarly articles:
- Provide original research and analysis - these articles are based on studies or experiements, or analyze an artifact or event. Every scholarly article presents something new about the world we didn't know before.
- Are written by scholars - scholars tend to hold PhDs, or other advanced degrees and are professors at universities.
- Are published in peer-reviewed journals - you won't find these floating about on the internet, they have to be published in a journal. Most times you'll find them in the library databases.
- Might be hard to read - they act as the primary conversation between scholars about a field of study. Since they are written by scholars, for scholars, they contain specialized language that might be hard for the lay person to understand