Navigate between tabs
-
TutorialThis 6-minute tutorial will cover how to identify whether an article is "scholarly" and how to search for these types of articles.
How do we know a source we've found is a scholarly journal article? Look for these clues:
- written by scholars (with affiliations to universities or research institutions)
- written for other scholars and students (and therefore difficult to read)
- published in an academic journal with a peer-review process
- Here are some examples:
- structured format (abstract, introduction, etc...)
- extensive references at the end
Example of a Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journal Article that uses your required dataset.
Click to view the article - https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=154748954&site=ehost-live&scope=site
This is a curated list of economics databases for your assignment. If you are not finding what you need, consult with your librarian jopdahl@csusm.edu
-
EconLitCitations and abstracts of books and articles from over 700 journals covering most areas of economic research.
-
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
-
ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
-
JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
-
Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
-
Project MuseFull-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
-
PAISAn important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.
-
Women's Studies InternationalIncludes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.
You are required to use the following Data Set.
Your question must focus on individual behavior or outcomes such that the National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1997 (NLSY 97) is an appropriate dataset to use if you are pursuing an original research project.
-
NLS Surveys (Link provided by Instructor)Public Access to the Data Set through the National Longitudinal Surveys
-
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet)
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. The Sage Data platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets.
Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic. -
ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social ResearchDownload social science datasets for use with statistical software, such as SPSS.
Below are links to select data for crime and related data and statistics.
Below are select economics data and statistics