CSUSM Library Guides: ECON 481-16 Comparative Economic Systems: Scholarly Journal Articles

Navigate between tabs

Tutorial
This 6-minute tutorial will cover how to identify whether an article is "scholarly" and how to search for these types of articles.

written by scholars (with affiliations to universities or research institutions)
written for other scholars and students (and therefore difficult to read)
published in an academic journal with a peer-review process
- Here are some examples:
  - Journal of Economic Criminology
  - International Review of Law and Economics
structured format (abstract, introduction, etc...)
extensive references at the end

America: History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles covering American & Canadian history, from pre-history to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
ProQuest - History
Search among ProQuests History databases
ArchiveGrid
Access to thousands of digital texts, audio files, and images from open access archives.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
An essential bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.
Military & Government Collection
Provides full text for hundreds of military related periodicals and general interest magazines.

AnthroSource
Access to the latest research in core anthropology journals, including social and cultural studies.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

EconLit
Citations and abstracts of books and articles from over 700 journals covering most areas of economic research.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
PAIS
An important index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate.
Women's Studies International
Includes over 204,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.