Research Help is still available during remote instruction!

Email or chat your subject librarian using the contact information on the right of this page. We can provide remote research assistance via Zoom (which allows for screensharing), chat, email, and phone.  

Modern Languages

The purpose of this guide is to familiarize you with the best resources for research on the languages offered at CSUSM (Arabic, French, German, Japanese and Spanish).

General

Beyond textbooks used in class, there are dictionaries, pronunciation guides, and reference works to help you develop skills in your new language and do research on topics of interest around the world. Here are some examples:

Dictionaries

Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English, English-French
REF PC2640 .O83 1994

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary
REF PF3640 .C68 1995

Oxford Starter Japanese Dictionary
BOOK STACKS PL679 .O946 2000b

American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Ingl�s/Espa�ol
REF PC4640 .A47 2001

Handbook of English-Arabic for Professionals
REF PJ6640 .S47 1983

Pronunciation and Usage

Using French: A Guide to Contemporary Usage
BOOK STACKS PC2460 .B37 2000

Using German Synonyms
BOOK STACKS PF3591 .D87 2000

Dictionary of Japanese Particles
BOOK STACKS PL601 .K39 1999

Writer's Reference Guide to Spanish
REF PC4410 .F68 1999

A Handbook of Pronunciation : English, Italian, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Chinese, Japanese, Esperanto
REF P221 .C276 2005 

Other Resources (just a sample)

Oxford Guide to Film Studies
BOOK STACKS PN1995.9 .O93 1998

Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book
REF PQ6055 .S63 1993

Who's Who in the World
REF CT120 .W5 2004

Arabic Literary Culture, 500-925
REF PJ7521 .A73 2005