CSUSM Library Guides: AIS 270: American Indian Digital Humanities (Professor Aase): Finding Articles

American Indian Studies Databases

Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
ERIC
A national database of education literature, including reports and journal articles.
ALERT! Within ERIC search results: IF the "Link to ERIC full text" does not work, try the "Get It!" link.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text ethnic newspapers, searchable in English or Spanish.
Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Tips	Examples
Use keywords, not long search phrases	Instead of searching for "How do we embed indigenous perspectives into education?" break down your search into the main keywords: indigenous perspectives, education, embed
To get more focused results: Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together Use AND to combine different keywords	"indigenous perspective" AND education AND embed
To get broader results: Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords Truncate words that have a variety of endings with a *	*(indigenous OR "American Indian") AND educat AND (embed* or inclusive)** educat* educating, educate, education
Look for ways to limit your search in the database	You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed) & year of publication