Cultural Resources
Photo by National Park Service. Used under (CC BY-NC 2.0); image resized from original
-
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
-
Carrying Our Ancestors Home A working group of tribal practitioners, tribal members, museum professionals, and academics, have worked to create this website as an educational tool for people seeking to understand the process and diversity of returning ancestral remains and cultural items as well as the impact of repatriation on Indigenous communities around the world. (UCLA American Indian Studies Center)
-
The Indians of the Midwest In the Midwest—defined here as Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio — there are 34 federally recognized tribes and others seeking recognition. Members of these communities generously contributed information about contemporary life. On “Indians of the Midwest,” you can explore seven important issues, learn how to do further research, and gain an introduction to the research methods that underlie scholars’ findings. - maintained by The Newberry Library.
-
Native American Heritage Month November is National American Indian Heritage Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.
State-wide (California) Resources
-
Alliance for California Traditional Arts ACTA aims to serve as a bridge between cultural communities, providing opportunities for exchange, collaboration, and connection to new resources.
-
California-Nevada Native Communities Research Guide Research Guides for both historic and modern Native Communities relating to records held at the National Archives.
-
California Indian Basketweavers' Association CIBA’s vision is to preserve, promote and perpetuate California Indian basketweaving traditions while providing a healthy physical, social, spiritual and economic environment for basketweavers.
-
California Indian Museum & Cultural Center The purpose of the California Indian Museum and Cultural Center is to culturally enrich and benefit the people of California and the general public. The goals of the Museum and Cultural Center are to educate the public about California Indian history and cultures, to showcase California Indian cultures, to enhance and facilitate these cultures and traditions through educational and cultural activities, to preserve and protect California Indian cultural and intellectual properties, and to develop relationships with other indigenous groups.
-
California Native American Heritage Commission The NAHC identifies, catalogs, and protects Native American cultural resources -- ancient places of special religious or social significance to Native Americans and known ancient graves and cemeteries of Native Americans on private and public lands in California.
-
California State Archives The California State Archives collects, catalogs, preserves, and provides access to the historic records of state government and some local governments.
-
Calisphere Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,775,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
-
Online Archive of California The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
-
Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians The Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians has called the Temecula valley home for more than 10,000 years. Life on earth began in this valley at ‘Éxva Teméeku, the birthplace of the Káamalam (First Children)
-
Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians The Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians is a sovereign government recognized by the United States of America, whose ancestors date back over 10,000 years, leaving behind a resilient cultural heritage.
-
Society for California Archaeology The Society for California Archaeology is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to research, understanding, interpretation and conservation of the heritage of California and the regions that surround and pertain to it.
-
State Indian Museum (California Indian Heritage Center) The State Indian Museum, opened in 1940, depicts three major themes of California Indian life: Nature, Spirit, and Family. Native peoples lived prosperously for thousands of years in what is now California. All of the exhibits and photographs on display in the museum are presented with respect for those who went before us on this land and continue to live in California communities today.
Information & Heritage Preservation
-
American Indian Library Association Breaking down public perceptions of who Native Americans are. Elevating conversation around Native American issues. Promoting Native education, literacy, and community.
-
Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums is dedicated to preserving and advancing the language, history, culture, and lifeways of indigenous peoples.
-
Indigenous Research Studies Portal Indigenous Research Studies Portal - covers a wide variety of research areas. (University of Saskatchewan)
-
Intellectual Property Issues in Cultural Heritage The Intellectual Property Issues in Cultural Heritage (IPinCH) project explores the rights, values, and responsibilities of material culture, cultural knowledge and the practice of heritage research.
Educational Resources
-
Indigenous Education Tools Indigenous Education Tools is a part of the Building Capacity & Cultivating Innovation: Learning Agendas in Native Education (BCCI) project. BCCI is designed to develop resources and practices that will have exponential impacts on efforts to improve Native student success across a variety of sectors (e.g. tribal, public education, private, non-profit, higher education, etc).
-
Tending Nature "Tending Nature" shines a light on the environmental knowledge of Indigenous peoples across California by exploring how the state's Native peoples have actively shaped and tended the land for millennia. The series examines how traditional practices can inspire a new generation of Californians to find a balance between humans and nature.
-
Untold History: The Survival of California's Indians From the "Tending Nature" KCET series.
-
First Nations - Reading List The staff members of First Nations Development Institute have compiled a list of what they consider to be essential reading for anyone interested in the Native American experience. Certain entries on the list are boldfaced, indicating that the employees of First Nations consider them to be “a good place to start.”
-
K-12 Lessons & Resources (Native Knowledge 360°) K-12 learning resources from Native Knowledge 360°.