Background information in the research process
Background research is vital for developing a foundational understanding of your topic. It will also help you narrow and focus your research question, choose relevant keywords and search terms, and shape research direction.
In addition to general searching using your favorite search engine or Wikipedia, you may also review newspaper or magazine articles, and longform journalism. Biology encyclopedias can also be useful places to look for information because they are written by experts in the field and will also include references that will direct you to further reading on a given topic.
General Reference databases
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General Biology Reference
These selected works and websites will help you to quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by ISBN: 9780198506737Publication Date: 2000-02-24
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology, 6 Volume Set by ISBN: 0471354503Publication Date: 2002-02-25
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedias
Grzimek's is a comprehensive reference work on the animal world. The volumes are organized by taxonomy, with information for each organism organized under general topic areas such as reproduction, behavior, ecology, etc.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Vol. 1 - Lower Metazoans and Lesser Deuterostomes by ISBN: 0787677515Publication Date: 2003
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Volumes 4-5 - Fishes I-II by ISBN: 0787677574Publication Date: 2003
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Volumes 8-11 - Birds I-IV by ISBN: 0787677000Publication Date: 2002
