Skip to Main Content

Industry (Business)

A guide for use by researchers looking to learn more about an Industry.

CFRA Industry Surveys

Market Research Reporter (one year access starts Feb 8, 2021)

Electronic access to Industry Reports by CFRP (previously known as S & P Capital IQ Industry Surveys)

Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company.   Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators. Industry Surveys does look at Porters 5 forces model. 

Image of MarketScope Advisor interface highlighting industry surveys


In Print access to the Surveys are located on the 3rd and 4th Floors of the Library
Industry Surveys: CFRA

  • 3rd Floor - Reference   HG4915 .S652  

IBISWorld

Keyword search or use NAICS code (IBISWorld Reports uses 5 digits of a 6 digit NAICS code).

Reports beginning with OD - are "specialized reports," often they cover a smaller section of an industry.

Some industries will provide 5 digits of a NAICS code plus a letter, for example 51121e- Video Game Software Publishing in the US 

Screenshot of basec search bar for IBISWorld

Official Help from IBISWorld - Must be logged into the library to view information

Industry Research Reports (Video and information of sections)

IBISWorld Help Center (Official)  

FirstResearch (by Mergent)

NOTE: To get to the database click to enter and then, Continue, Continue, Submit.

Screenshot of FirstResearch by Mergent's keyword search bar

Keyword search or use 2, 4, or 6 digit NAICS code to locate industry reports.

Database provides ability to view: executive insights, critical issues, industry opportunities, and more.

Meeting with a stakeholder? Check out the "Call Prep questions" which help start conversations with different stakeholders (CEO, COO, CFO).
Diving deeper into the industry check out the Websites section: Provides a robust list of industry related associations, organizations, and publications. 

Factiva

Navigate the top level menu to Companies/Markets and use the dropdown to Industry. Click on major headings (covers large industries) for a one page industry snapshot. From Industry pane see companies, subjects, regions, and news. You can also use the search builder to locate news on an industry.

Image of Factiva top search menu circle on company

Business Source Premier

Contains Marketline Reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Note: Page attention to dates, currency as some reports could be older.

Interface for Business Source Premier with arrows showing browsing reports OR basic keywroding

To access the help information, and tutorials below you must be logged into the library. 

Business Searching Help from EBSCOhost (official)

Business Source Advances Search Features (video & PPT)

ABI/INFORM Complete (by Proquest)

Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and countries reports. Among the potential useful reports are:

ABI/Inform top menu with a circle around the Browse feature

BMI Country Industry reports
BMI Global Oil Market Reports
BMI Industry Insight Reports
BMI Risk Reports

Locate US Industry & Market Reports; publisher Barnes Reports 

Locate Worldwide Industry and Market Reports; publisher Barnes Reports 

Looking for more on how to use this and other ProQuest databases visit the following Course Guide. Listed on here are PPTX slides, recorded learning modules, sample searches, etc. 

Proquest LibGuide for the ABI/Inform Collection

Mergent Online

Major US Companies can be searched. Also industry analysis for major industries. 

Mergent screenshot highlighting US company search box and industries tab

Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the Industry Reports. Use for MAJOR industries only. Provides Global Coverage. Useful for PUBLICLY traded companies. Search for broad industry name.