Financial's or Reports
Looking for some type of financial information on a non-profit organization?
Visit the official website for your non-profit.
- Look to see if they publish a report (some non-profits publish an annual report of sorts)
- If they don't provide any financial information look to see if they filed a 990. (What is a 990, from Classy.org)
- The release of 990 forms had been very behind, this is now changing (The 990s are here. Why that's a big deal and what happens now by Candid)
Having trouble finding your nonprofit:
- Just like regular companies they may be doing business under one name, but have officially filed the non-profit with a different name.
- Visit the official non-profit's website and do some investigation. Look for pages labeled "about us," "mission," "purpose," "vision," and/or "news." This may reveal the name they are "registered as."
- Candid's 990 Finder"Search our database of individual 990 forms of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofits." (Source: Candid.org)
- PropublicaResults include only organizations that filed a tax return — for any fiscal year — from calendar year 2014 forward. (Source: Propublica site)
GuideStar Search by Candid
Source used by individuals in the nonprofit industry.
Sign up for an account at Candid.org. This allows you to access a "free" version of Guidestar a directory of nonprofit organizations.
Search Guidestar (the free version has some limitations)
Click on an entry of your choosing. Learn more about the organization using the menu provided. Not all entries will be as "complete" as others.
Greatnonprofits
A nonprofit that provides a searchable index of nonprofit organizations
Search the directory. (Tip: Use City and State)
IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search
You can also create a list of nonprofits by using the IRS' tax-exempt organizations search.
To view an entry in the database, click on the name of the organization
Sites listing nonprofits
Look-up organizations by Geography, Organization by "seal" designation. The "free" version is very limited in ability to search.
Use Candid's subscription FDO and Guidestar at...
Candid provides a search allowing nonprofit organizations to locate places to utilize Candid's subscription resources.
In San Diego visit NP Solutions (Nonprofit Solutions) for workshops, and to access the subscription version of The Foundation Directory which is a searchable database of company foundations and grantmakers - learn more on their website (read more on getting an email for a password due to COVID)