Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 352: History of Mexico, Past and Present

Finding Books

The Library Catalog is the place to search first. Why? Because the librarian in collaboration with the History faculty has carefully selected most of the collection for quality and relevance to our disciplines. Some ebook titles come in packages so not every title is individually selected but the ebook vendors we deal with are chosen for the overall quality of the publishers they source titles from. 

See the video clip below on searching the library catalog and limiting to ebook format. Some titles will need the Libby app downloaded and if you use the public library, you may already have this app installed. 

If you find something in our print collection--due concerns about everyone's safety, our print materials are not available for check out and sadly, the stacks are not open to browsing (a favorite pastime of historians.) Never fear! The library has put procedures in place to get what you need in digital versions for touch-free access whenever possible. Details on ordering books is in the Getting Full Text Materials page. In addition to mailing hard copy materials to your home, we also offer Digitization on Demand (DoD.) Place a request and the Interlibrary Loan staff will be in touch to let you know how we can get you what you need.   

Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

There are a number of history-focused databases and I strongly advise searching individual databases rather than using the Articles+ search. Articles+ searches ALL of our full text databases and will return a lot of irrelevant hits. Since you are doing history research, use the specific history tools!

GET IT is the link to try if you find an article citation but not the full text. GET IT will search for that specific article through all our databases and link to the full text if we have it.

No full text? We can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan which should be an option offered if the text is not available. Free and amazingly quick as it comes through your campus account.