Notes-Bibliography Description
Chicago Style-Turbian uses a notes-bibliography format. The term "note" is also referred to as a footnote. In this format, sources must be cited using either a footnote or both a footnote and bibliographic reference entry. Some sources require only a footnote and others require both a footnote and bibliographic reference entry. If you are unsure of whether to include a bibliographic reference entry consult the Chicago Style-Turabian Manual.
Use a footnote to cite a source in the text of the research paper or essay. A footnote consists of a subscript number in the text and the subscript number and citation at the bottom of the page. Footnotes should be sequential. A bibliography is a list of sources cited in a research paper or essay. A bibliographic reference entry is a citation of a source stated in the bibliography. See the following image as example of the format.
Chicago Style Notes-Bibliography Format Example
Chicago Style -Turabian Notes and Bibliography
Paintings/Sculptures/Photographs/Drawings and other Artwork from a Book
Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, and other artwork from publications such as books only in notes. However, you may include the citation in your bibliography if the artwork is critical to your argument or cited often in your paper. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.
Note should include the following if available:
- name of the artist
- the title of the artwork (in italics for Note)
- date of the creation of the artwork (preceded by ca. [circa] if approximate)
- medium and related information (photograph, advertisement, cartoon, etc) (if relevant)
- book author
- name of the book
- name of the publisher
- publication year
- page number
Paintings/Sculptures/Photographs/Drawings and other Artwork from a Website
Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, and other artwork from publications such as books only in notes. However, you may include the citation in your bibliography if the artwork is critical to your argument or cited often in your paper. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.
Note should include the following if available:
- name of the artist
- the title of the artwork (in italics for Note)
- date of the creation of the artwork (preceded by ca. [circa] if approximate)
- medium and related information (photograph, advertisement, cartoon, etc) (if relevant)
- URL (See Chicago Style- Turabian, A Manual for Writers, 15.4.1.3 (9th ed. regarding URL rules)
Paintings/Sculptures/Photographs/Drawings and other Artwork from a Museum/Archive
Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, and other artwork from publications such as books only in notes. However, you may include the citation in your bibliography if the artwork is critical to your argument or cited often in your paper. Check with your instructor if you are unsure.
Note should include the following if available:
- name of the artist
- the title of the artwork (in italics for Note)
- date of the creation of the artwork (preceded by ca. [circa] if approximate)
- medium and related information (photograph, advertisement, cartoon, etc) (if relevant)
- name of the institution that houses it including location
- URL if online museum or archive ( See Chicago Style- Turabian, A Manual for Writers, 15.4.1.3 (9th ed. regarding URL rules)
Common Chicago Style-Turabian Examples
Note:
Note Entries: The first line of each note is indented
General Format
Note number. Artist's First Name and Last Name,Title of the Artwork, creation date, in Author's First and Last Name, Title of Publication (Publisher Place: Publisher Name, publication year), page number.
Example
5. Georgia O'Keeffe, The Cliff Chimneys,1938, in Barbara Buhler Lynes, Lesley Poling-Kempes, and Fredrick W. Turner, Georgia O'Keeffe and New Mexico: A Sense of Place (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2004), 25.
Bibliography:
Bibliography Entries: Use hanging indents
General Format
Last Name, First Name. Title of the Artwork, creation date, in Author's First and Last Name, Title of Publication. Publisher Place: Publisher Name, Publication Date.
Example
O'Keefe, Georgia. The Cliff Chimneys, 1938, in Barbara Buhler Lynes, Lesley Poling-Kempes, and Fredrick W. Turner, Georgia O'Keeffe and New Mexico: A Sense of Place. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2002.
*Credit to Chicago Style- Turabian, A Manual for Writers, 17.10.1 (9th ed.)
Note:
Note Entries: The first line of each note is indented
General Format
Note number. Artist's First Name and Last Name, "Title of the Artwork," artwork medium, Website title, artwork creation date. URL. Include access date if source is undated.
Example
4. Evan Brown. "The 10 Commandments of Typography," infographic, DesignMantic, April 11, 2014. http://designmantic.com/blog/infographics/ten- commandements-of-typography/.
Bibliography:
Bibliography Entries: Use hanging indents
General Format
Last Name, First Name. Title of the Artwork. artwork creation date. In Website title. Accessed date. URL.
Example
Brown, Evan. The 10 Commandments of Typography. April 11, 2014. In DesignManic. Accessed July 10, 2023. http://designmantic.com/blog/infographics/tenccommandements-of-typography/.
*Credit to Chicago Style- Turabian, A Manual for Writers, 17.10.1 (9th ed.)
Note:
Note Entries: The first line of each note is indented
General Format
Note number. Artist's First Name and Last Name, Title of the Artwork, artwork creation date, artwork medium, Museum or Archive name. add URL if online
Example
1. Georgia O'Keeffe,The Cliff Chimneys,1938, oil on canvas, Milwaukee Art Museum.
Bibliography:
Bibliography Entries: Use hanging indents
General Format
Last Name, First Name. Title of the Artwork. Artwork medium. Museum or Archive city: Museum or Archive name, publication year.
Example
O'Keeffe, Georgia. The Cliff Chimneys. 1938, oil on canvas, Milwaukee: Milwaukee Art Museum, 1938.
*Credit to Chicago Style- Turabian, A Manual for Writers, 17.10.1 (9th ed.)