Finding print books
To assist you in your analysis of a work of art, don't forget to include books in your search. Why?
- A university's collection is hand-picked by subject experts (librarians and faculty) to provide you with the best information.
- Whether a book is scholarly or not is easily determined from the book's details, where articles and web pages can be more difficult.
- There are fewer books than articles or webpages, so you have less to look through to find something useful.
- You don't have to read the entire book! Looking in the index or table of contents will show you what part of the book is useful.
- Scholarly books have great bibliographies to lead to you related and relevant materials.
- Much of our collection is in e-book format so accessible from anywhere you can log in.
To search for books go to the CSUSM University Library homepage, click on Books & More.
In the search box, you can search for a specific title, an artist or author, or a general topic and then click on the Search button.
You will be taken to a results page where you can use limiters on the left to filter the results further.
Finding Library ebooks
CSUSM Library provides access to hundreds of thousands of ebooks. Though some are straightforward, some have restrictions that can be confusing. This guide will help you find library ebooks in the simplest way possible. We will go over two easy methods to find ebooks.
Method 1
- To find ebooks, click on the OneSearch Advanced Search feature. Type in your search terms and then click on the Search button.
- This will take you to a Results page. Use the facets on the left side to limit results to "Full-text online" and "Books" and then click "Apply Filters."
Method 2
Another method of finding ebooks is to browse the library ebook databases individually or clicking on the databases listed below.
Note: O'Reilly (formerly Safari), Taylor and Francis, and Springer ebooks can be difficult to find using OneSearch so it is recommended that you click on these databases directly in order to find these books.
- Business Expert Press E-Books Business Expert Press publishes concise, practical treatments of the topics taught in MBA programs. Our born-digital books are written by professors who translate real-life business experiences into teaching tools, and serve as curriculum-oriented, cost-effective alternatives to high-priced textbooks. Unencumbered by DRM , they can be used easily and without limitation by the academic community.
- Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- EBSCO eBook Collection Access to a full text collection of over 4,000 e-book titles covering a wide-range of subject areas.
- Elsevier Ebooks Thousands of ebooks published by Elsevier and available with unlimited user access and Digital Rights Management (DRM)-free on the ScienceDirect platform.
- JSTOR eBooks JSTOR eBooks includes thousands of titles across all diciplines that feature unlimted use licenses and have no Digital Rights Management (DRM) restrictions.
- OverDrive OverDrive is an ebook platform that enables access to popular fiction and non-fiction works that can be read online or on mobile devices through the Libby app.
- O'Reilly Ebooks (formerly Safari Ebooks) A collection of over 38,000 O'Reilly programming and technology books - each completely searchable, including code fragments.
- Springer Ebooks Access to approximately 36,000 ebooks, all of which can be ready by multiple users at the same time and are digital rights management (DRM)-free for easy downloading and reading offline.
- Taylor and Francis Ebooks Access to approximately 1500 ebooks published since 2016 by Taylor & Francis and Routledge. All titles can be read by multiple users at the same time, and are digital rights management (DRM)-free for downloading and offline reading. Includes some Open Access titles.