eBooks on Information Evaluation
Information sign by Roman Craft used under (CC BY-NC 2.0); image resized from original
- Web literacy for student fact checkersComprehensive information evaluation and fact checking resource written by Michael A. Caulfield, Director of Blended and Networked Learning at Washington State University. Browseable by chapter links and freely accessible.
- First Draft's Essential GuidesA series freely accessible Essential Guides published by First Draft, covering newsgathering, verification, responsible reporting, online safety, digital ads and more.
GIS and Datasets
Geographic information systems (GIS) are computer-based tools used to analyze, visualize, interpret, and store geographic data. Data can be considered anything that can be associated with a geographical location and/or mapped.
Environmental and Ecological Data
- Natural Earth Data Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Geospatial Services Collection of GIS data sources on coastal barrier resources, bird conservation, landscape conservation, wetlands, and more.
- USGS GIS Data USGS is a primary source of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Data. Data and information is presented both spatially and geographically including The National Map, Earth Explorer, GloVIS, LandsatLook, and much more.
Elevation
- CGIAR-CSI SRTM 90m DEM Digital Elevation Database This data is provided in an effort to promote the use of geospatial science and applications for sustainable development and resource conservation in the developing world. Digital elevation models (DEM) for the entire globe, covering all of the countries of the world, are available for download on this site.
- The Mojave Desert Ecosystem Program MDEP repositories support on site hosted data and data services from around the country. The volume of data is significant and changes constantly. With the help of the Voyager Search software deployed at MDEP, users can now find and work with many data sources easily and quickly.
- Open Topography Based at the San Diego Supercomputer Center at the University of California, San Diego. OpenTopography facilitates community access to high-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data, and related tools and resources.
- Seafloor Mapping Project Data presented in the SFML Data Library include a series of remotely sensed images (multibeam, side scan sonar), derived data (bathymetric contours, grid analyses, etc.), habitat analyses, associated data sets (survey footprints, coastline) with FGDC metadata, grouped by survey location.
Imagery
- California Coastal Records Project Over 96,000 photographs (totaling over 509GB) of the California coast are now online, covering from the Oregon Border (42N latitude) to the Mexican Border (32.5N latitude), except for the Vandenberg AFB restricted area. An additional 5833 images from 1972, 8000 images from 1979, 2890 images from 1986, 4173 images from 1987, 1074 images from 1989, and 2407 images from 1993 are now online.
- Historic Aerials United States historic aerial imagery
- University of Hawai'i at Mānoa Library, MAGIS MAGIS holds over 150,000 aerial photo prints of Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Sources of aerial imagery are from USGS, USDA, and the US Navy, from the 1920s to the 2000s.
- USGS EarthExplorer The EarthExplorer (EE) user interface is an online search, discovery, and ordering tool developed by the United States Geological Survey (USGS). EE supports the searching of satellite, aircraft, and other remote sensing inventories through interactive and textual-based query capabilities.
Online Mapping
- CensusScope CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists.
- HealthMap The freely available Web site 'healthmap.org' and mobile app 'Outbreaks Near Me' deliver real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious diseases for a diverse audience including libraries, local health departments, governments, and international travelers.
- iMapInvasives An online on-line, GIS-based data management system used to assist citizen scientists and natural resource professionals working to protect our natural resources from the threat of invasive species.
- The National Map The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response.
- On the Map Map and get reports on congressional districts, tribal areas, geographies, workforce, transortation, education, waterways, parks
Datasets
- CSU Social Science Research and Instructional Center Access for CSU students, faculty, and staff to more than 70,000 subscription data bases from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR); to CALSPEAKS California public opinion data; and to other, unrestricted data bases.
- Data.gov Repository of government datasets -- a great starting point for research.
- Earth Observing Laboratory (EOL) The EOL data archive contains atmospheric, meteorological, and other geophysical datasets from operational sources and the scientific research programs and projects for which NCAR/EOL has provided data management support. The project list may be sorted by selecting the header keys and full project descriptions and dataset lists are available by selecting the project title. You may search for projects with the form below. You may also search for datasets by keyword or space and time.
- EPA Science Inventory The Science Inventory is a searchable database of research products primarily from EPA's Office of Research and Development. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the product, contact information, and links to available printed material or websites.
- Google Dataset Search Search for datasets in Google.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- SANDAG GIS & Data Warehouse SANDAG creates and maintains a tremendous quantity of data about the San Diego region.
- Southern California Association of Governments The purpose of the program is to derive and promote a model policy for distributing geospatial data and other information developed and maintained at SCAG.
- Vital Statistics This page is a portal to the online data dissemination activities of the Division of Vital Statistics, including both interactive online data access tools and downloadable public use data files.