Support Black-Owned Businesses
- 30 Black-Owned Food and Drink Businesses to Support (Esquire Magazine) List of 30 Black-owned food and drink businesses compiled by Esquire Magazine.
- 50+ Black-Owned Fashion Brands and Stores to Support (Esquire Magazine) List of 50+ Black-owned fashion brands and stores compiled by Esquire Magazine.
- 75 Black Owned Businesses (Forbes) Directory of 75 Black-owned businesses to support (Forbes).
- 125 Black-Owned Businesses to Support (NY Mag) NY Mag created a directory of over 100 Black-owned businesses you can support in seven different categories: beauty brands, bookstores, clothing and accessories, food and drink, fitness, home décor, and gift shops and beyond.
- Black-Owned Etsy Shops Black-owned Etsy shops including jewelry, accessories, apparel, art, and more.
- The Black Wallet Offers an online directory, mobile app, business services, and education courses to empower the Black community with knowledge and tools for success.
- EatOkra Mobile app directory to locate Black-owned eateries near you.
- Legendary Rootz "Lifestyle brand for Black Women to authentically express themselves through powerful, statement-driven apparel."
- Official Black Wall Street Directory of Black-owned businesses; also has a mobile device app.
- Black-Owned Restaurants to Support in San Diego An evolving list of black-owned small businesses to support.
- Black-owned restaurants in the Inland Empire/Riverside County A list of black owned restaurants in the Inland Empire/Riverside County with links and how to find them.
- MĀKTUB Studio MĀKTUB Studio is a black-owned candle company that pairs songs with scents! Their candles are hand-mixed in Los Angeles, CA, vegan-safe, and free of gluten, toxins, parabens and phthalates.
- Ivy's Tea Co. Ivy's Tea Co. is a pop culture and Hip-Hop inspired tea company owned and operated by first-generation herbalist and Tea Bae, Shanae.
Utilize your social media platforms to share information about Black Lives Matter.
The University Library Commits to Practicing Anti-racism
As your University Library, we commit to actively practicing anti-racism. We encourage you to share additional ideas that we can take to support the Black community, practice anti-racism, and stand in solidarity with marginalized groups and individuals. Our next steps include, but are not limited to:
- Commit to examining White supremacy culture in the Library organization in order to address its impacts and our own positionality in confronting it.
- Develop our library materials to be more representative and anti-racist, as well as address instances of racist language in our collections and catalog records.
- Examine the racial composition of our leadership team and identify methods to increase organizational leadership by Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) as well as representation of marginalized voices in Library decision-making (positionally and in terms of influence).
- Examine our recruitment and retention practices across the board to enact more inclusive practices for BIPOC and other marginalized groups.
- Commit to ongoing organizational dialogues with a focus on institutional practices that perpetuate the systemic oppression of BIPOC.
- Continue to pursue Library-wide learning opportunities provided by known and respected anti-oppression & anti-racism experts, including ally workshops and training led by CSUSM employees.
- Create more co-curricular programming for the campus community on anti-racism, systemic oppression, and similar topics.
Suggested Actions You Can Take
Listen
Preserve and share humanity's stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.
Discussions about race, inclusiveness, and sensitivity clearly aren't new. However, The Seattle Times embarked on this project with the hope that the personal reflections and stories from the people who participated will inspire all to think and talk about these issues in a deeper way.
What songs are helping you address your feelings right now?
Compiled by Sarah Sophie Flicker and Alyssa Klein, this resource is intended for White people to deepen understanding of and engagement in anti-racist work.
Use this guide to understand where prejudice comes from, what it looks like, and how you can help others experiencing it.
How to Talk To Kids About Black Lives and Police Violence
Interview with educator and activist, Jesse Hagopian, on how to discuss Black lives and police brutality with children.
Learning resources and a list of daily actions to take towards becoming an active ally for the Black community. Compiled by Autumn Gupta with Bryanna Wallace's oversight.
Saying "I Don't See Color" denies students' racial identity.
A professional development curriculum focused on cultural competence and equity literacy created by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Information and Library Science with the School of Library and Information Sciences at North Carolina Central University and Wake County Public Schools.
Report
Independent service for reporting police misconduct in the United States.
Vote
For more information on voter registration and voting locations, contact your local county elections official.
Includes election deadlines for California voters.
Sign
Petition and policy demands to protect Black lives.
A list of petitions to sign demanding justice for Black lives.
Donate
Black Visions Collective (BLVC) believes in a future where all Black people have autonomy, safety is community-led, and we are in right relationship within our ecosystems.
Provides free bail assistance to low-income individuals who are legally presumed innocent, and whom a judge has deemed eligible for release before trial contingent on paying bail.
Raising funds to offer free therapy sessions for Black women and girls.
Donations help employ Black trans people, build strategic campaigns, and launch winning initiatives that benefit the Black trans community.
The Black Business Relief Grant will support San Diego Black-owned businesses with grants ranging from $250 to $5000. Resources will target small, disadvantaged businesses (including nonprofits) in economically vulnerable communities and/or in the most distressed neighborhoods in the county.
NY Mag editors compiled and vetted sites to create a guide for anyone with the means and interest in donating as a form of taking action today or everyday.