Guides: Business: Business Research &amp; Reference Sources

Ask Us Options	Research Help	Library Services Help
Chat
Email	Email Form	Email Form
Call/Text	Call: (760) 750-4391	Call: (760) 750-4348

Nature of Business Research

Conducting business research can be challenging with varying needs in source types, currency, availability, and quality of information.

Use premium library databases through the University Library! Databases contain pay-walled information that is copyrighted and will not be consumed and contained within ChatBots.

It is important to acknowledge that business research often has limitations. It is not uncommon to find the information, data, and report you want is subject to:

Proprietary Nature: The information or data you want belongs to a company, industry, etc.; and they don't provide access.
Cost prohibitive: A vendor may provide access to the data at premium cost and/or licensing restriction, so that the average researcher cannot afford or access the information.
Restricted: The data or information you want exists but access is limited to invited paid members of an association or organization. Again the average researcher cannot access the information.

General Reference databases

Gale eBooks (Business titles link)
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. (Source Gale)
Gale Directory Library (see description)
Provides access to Gale's Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources - Covers various types of resources including directories, databases, newsletters, indexes, research centers, etc. & Market Share Reporter - Presents comparative business statistics. data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources. (Source Gale)