Library Collection Cancellations, 2025-2026

The Library's Databases A-Z list will continue to provide access to over 200 databases, and we will continue to provide access to thousands of books and journals. Databases that will continue to be available include all of those paid for by the Chancellor's Office that are part of the Electronic Core Collection (ECC), as well as popular resources at CSUSM such as Web of Science, EBSCOHost Databases, ProQuest Databases, JoVE, streaming film databases and resources, and current, full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals.

The Library will also continue to have significant and stable funding for our very successful textbook and affordable learning initiatives (CALM). We will continue to be able to purchase books/ebooks, streaming film, and other resources for course reserves.

Materials we do not have in our collection may be requested through Resource Sharing.

Turnaround time for academic articles requested through resource sharing is often less than 12 hours. CSUSM Library has been recognized by a global resource sharing organization for fulfilling resource sharing requests faster than 90% of libraries internationally. 

CSUSM Library has long been moving toward a "just in time" rather than a "just in case" model of library collections. Because of the high level of expertise among the Library's staff, CSUSM Library has adopted and optimized many technologies for efficiently acquiring resources that are needed and requested by CSUSM students, faculty and staff.

By focusing on subscription cuts of large "big deal" journal packages, the Library preserves its available budget for one-time purchases, which can cover increased costs for purchasing needed resources (such as copyright fees) and continue to support our highly successful reserves and affordable learning (CALM) initiatives. An increased emphasis on one-time purchasing and resource sharing will however increase the workload of Library staff and student assistants. Ensuring adequate staffing will be a priority so that we can continue to support fast turnaround times for requested materials.

One way that faculty can push back on the expensive (and exploitative!) scholarly publishing conglomerates is to make their scholarship Open Access (OA). What is Open Access? has more detailed information about the Open Access movement. Specifically, faculty can choose to either publish in open access journals where the articles are freely available or they can deposit a version of their scholarship into ScholarWorks, the CSU-wide repository of scholarship. Going OA has another benefit: OA articles are cited more frequently than their paywalled counterparts. 

In 2014, the CSUSM Academic Senate affirmed support for OA by voting for a Resolution In Support Of Open Access For Faculty Publications. If you have questions about Open Access or how to make your research available in ScholarWorks, please contact Carmen Mitchell.