Modern Languages Research Guide

Dictionaries

American Heritage Spanish Dictionary: Spanish/English, Ingles/Español

5^th Floor Stacks: PC4640 .A47 2012

Diccionario del Uso del Español

Barahona Center Reference 463 M722

Diccionario de la Lengua Española

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545
5^th Floor Stacks: PC4625 .A3 2001

Diccionario de Uso del Español de América y España

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545u

Diccionario Panhispánico de Dudas

Barahona Center Reference 463.1 D545

Diccionario Esencial

Barahona Center Reference 463 D545

Clave : Diccionario de Uso del Español Actual

Barahona Center Reference 463 C617

Guía Práctica del Español Actual: Diccionario Breve de Dudas y Dificultades

Barahona Center Reference   463.1 S445

Helpful  e-Books

Diccionario de la Real Academia Española

Useful LC Subject Headings

Spanish language -- Errors of usage -- Dictionaries

Spanish language materials

Online Newspapers, Magazines and News Agencies

El Mundo (link is external) (newspaper)

El Nuevo Herald (link is external) (Spanish language news published in US)

Articles

Many journal, newspaper, magazine and newspaper articles are found through the research databases below in both English and in Spanish languages.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals from 1970 on providing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.

MLA
Includes abstracts of articles from critical literary and language journals.
Coverage: 1963→current

JSTOR
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
Coverage: 1838→2005

Project Muse
Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1993→current

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and English language newspapers offering news, advertisements, opinion and more from across the nation reflecting contemporary thought and activity.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Provides abstracts of articles from about 2,000 journals (published worldwide), coverage of recent books, book review citations and dissertation listings.
Coverage: 1973→current

ClasePeriodica
Search 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1975→current