Websites for economic and other indicators and reports
Below are a list of potential sources for indicators. Some provide ability to pull down data into Excel, while others provide tables for your use. It is suggested that you review where the source(s) of information come from, the currency, and if applicable the methodology.
-
Business Ready Report & Data [B-Ready from The World Bank]
"B-READY assesses an economy’s business environment by focusing on three pillars, the Regulatory Framework and the provision of related Public Services directed at firms and markets, as well as the Operational Efficiency with which regulatory framework and public services are combined in practice"
-
World Bank Group [Open Data Portal]
The World Bank open data site is expanding to Data360, a newly curated collection of data, analytics, and tools to foster development. (Source World Bank)
-
IMF Country Information
There are more than one way to use this source. Showing here the information by country. You may also want to view the IMF Data Portal at https://data.imf.org/, or read many of the reports generated by the IMF
Thumbnail image shows Country Data Profile. Tip: explore your options you can view by a single country and download data into Excel, you may also find viewing by region or group provides new insights (region provides and AI preparedness index and group provides fiscal monitors, etc.),
-
IMF's World Economic Database (April 2025)
Use the step by step guide by countries, by country groups to create a report, or use the entire dataset.
Create a report using the IMF's World Economic Outlook database.
Follow the step by step guide to create a report from your selected variables
Note: The downloads are presented in Tab Delimited Values format which is compatible with most statistical packages and Excel
IMF Data help located here IMF Help Center
-
Our World In Data
"Our World in Data and the SDG-Tracker are collaborative efforts between researchers at the University of Oxford, who are the scientific editors of the website content; and the non-profit organization Global Change Data Lab, who publishes and maintains the website and the data tools that make our work possible. At the University of Oxford we are based at the Oxford Martin Programme on Global Development." Source: ourworldindata.org
-
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and development [OECD] DataExplorer
The OECD Data Explorer is the organisation's data warehouse, providing access to all OECD statistical data. It is the entry point for figures on a wide range of statistical topics, covering OECD member countries and partner economies. (Source OECD)
-
CAGEComparator from NYU Stern
Tool provides a way to use indicators from sources such as Sources: IMF DOT Database; CEPII GeoDist Database; DESTA Database; World Development Indicators into the CAGE Framework
There is a video on how to use the Tool https://youtu.be/JquJPipRQhg
Indexes and Rankings
-
Global Innovation Index (World intellectual property organization) [WIPO]"ranks the most innovative economies in the world in 2024 amongst 133 economies and unveils the world’s top S&T innovation clusters" Source: WIPO
-
World Intellectual Property Indicators (WIPO)"World Intellectual Property Indicators is the annual survey of intellectual property (IP) activity around the world carried out by WIPO, the United Nations specialized agency for innovation and IP. This authoritative report analyzes IP activity around the globe. Drawing on 2023 filing, registration and renewals statistics from national and regional IP offices and WIPO, World Intellectual Property Indicators covers patents, utility models, trademarks, industrial designs, microorganisms, plant variety protection and geographical indications." Source: WIPO
-
Corruption Perceptions index (CPI)"The CPI scores and ranks countries/territories based on how corrupt a country’s public sector is perceived to be by experts and business executives. It is a composite index, a combination of 13 surveys and assessments of corruption, collected by a variety of reputable institutions. The CPI is the most widely used indicator of corruption worldwide." Source: Transparency International)
-
Global Attractiveness Index (THEA)"The GAI Index compares 148 economies globally which represent 95% of the world population and 99% of Gross Domestic Product in four macro-areas of attractiveness (Openness, Innovation, Endowment and Efficiency), four additional indexes (Dynamism, Sustainability, Growth Expectations, and Conflict Exposure, added in 2022). " Source: THEA
-
Market Potential Index (MPI) (Michigan State)"The purpose of this study is to rank, with a U.S. focus, the market potential of the largest economies and to provide guidance to the U.S. companies that plan to expand their markets internationally. While the U.S. is not included in the rankings, the insights provided by the index are still applicable to companies located in other international markets." Source: GlobalEdge Univ. of Michigan
-
International Franchise Index (The Rosenberg International Franchise Center (RIFC) )"The RIFC developed an index that ranks 131 countries according to their attractiveness as international franchise expansion markets for US-based franchises. " Source: University of New Hampshire
-
Political Stability and Absence of Violence/Terrorism Index"Aggregate and individual governance indicators for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence/Terrorism; Government Effectiveness; Regulatory Quality; Rule of Law; Control of Corruption." Source: Our World In Data
-
Worldwide Governance IndicatorsThe WGI are based on existing data sources produced by more than 30 think tanks, international organizations, nongovernmental organizations, and private firms around the world. The data sources (1) produce original primary data using their own well-defined methodologies, (2) report respondents’ perceptions of relevant dimensions of governance, (3) cover multiple countries, and (4) are regularly updated. The data reflect the diverse views of tens of thousands of survey respondents and experts worldwide.The WGI combine these into aggregate indicators of six dimensions of governance for over 200 economies over the period 1996–2023:
Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence/Terrorism, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption
Source: WorldBank -
Freedom in the World Index (source from World Bank Group)"Freedom in the World, produced by Freedom House, is an annual report assessing political rights and civil liberties in 195 countries and 13 territories. It uses numerical ratings and descriptive texts to evaluate real-world rights and freedoms, emphasizing implementation over legal guarantees. The methodology is based on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, applying universal standards regardless of geography, ethnicity, or level of economic development." Source: WorldBank