Background Information & Reference Sources
Everyone, whether they're an expert or someone new to computer science, will sometimes need to learn more about the background of a topic before beginning a research project or assignment. Background research is vital for developing a foundational understanding of your topic. It will also help you narrow and focus your research question, choose relevant keywords and search terms, and shape research direction.
These selected resources will help you generate new ideas, learn about what's new in the field of computer science, help you quickly find a definition, or give you a brief introduction to a concept.
Library Resources
O'Reilly Ebooks (formerly Safari Ebooks) is a good place to go if you want to explore more about a large topic before narrowing it down. For instance, broad topics like AI, Data Science, Superconductivity, facial recognition, etc. are all very large topics that you can investigate from a number of different angles. Figuring out what it is about these topics (or others) that interests you can help your research proceed in an interesting way.
- Free On-line Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)FOLDOC is a free online computing dictionary that provides definitions useful in computing and computer engineering.
- WebopediaThis website defines internet and technology-related terms
- Association for Computing MachineryACM is a professional association that is the "world's largest computing society". On its website, you'll find publications, conference information, student chapters, career resources, public policy briefs, and more.
- National Technical Reports LibraryAccess to technical reports funded by the U.S. Federal Government.
- National Academies of Science - Computer Science and Telecommunications BoardThe NAS Computer Science and Telecommunications Board provides "authoritative advice to the nation on technical and public policy aspects of computing and communications technologies."
- IEEE Computer SocietyThe IEEE Computer Society is organization for professionals in computer science and engineering.
- Wired (Magazine)Wired magazine is a publication focused on technology and its impacts on our society.
- Winds of ChangePublished by the American Indian Science and Engineering Society, Winds of Change "is the premier nationally distributed magazine with a single-minded focus on career and educational advancement for American Indians/Alaska Natives/Native Hawaiians/First Nations, with an emphasis on STEM.
- XRDS: Crossroads, The ACM Magazine for Students"Established in 1994 and published quarterly, XRDS, formerly Crossroads, is the official ACM magazine for student members. Each issue features a theme, such as “Wearable Computing” or “Health Informatics,” and XRDS brings exciting research trends, interviews, columns, and even career advice articles related to that theme and relevant to computer science students. The magazine also lists major conferences, calls for papers, grants and fellowships, and other useful information to help students make the most of their educational careers."
Everyone, whether they're an expert or someone new to engineering, will sometimes need to learn more about the background of a topic before beginning a research project or assignment. These selected books and websites will help you quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Books
Websites
- Free On-line Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)FOLDOC is a free online computing dictionary that provides definitions useful in computing and computer engineering.
- WebopediaAn online IT and computer science reference that provides access to definitions, educational guides, and software and hardware reviews. Updated daily.
- The Internet Engineering Task ForceThe IETF develops open standards for Internet architecture to contribute to the smooth operation of the internet.
- IEEE Computer SocietyThe IEEE Computer Society is organization for professionals in computer science and engineering.
General Reference databases
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.