Business & Economics Librarian
Trade Journals
Looking for new products, identifying an industry leader, trends, and the latest news in a specific industry? If so then a trade journal will contain articles of interest to you:
The library's databases provide access to a range of trade journals, but not all. To search for trade journals you will need to remember:
- Off campus access required CSUSM credentials.
- Subscription databases often provide methods to filter or limit a search by source or material type. Select trade journal for only those articles.
- Looking for another trade journal title, see our FAQ for how to search using the name of a trade journal.
Trade Journals (suggested business databases)
The following are business databases that provide access to trade journal titles.
If you need general help with searching for trade journal articles reach visit Ways to Get help to launch a chat or visit a librarian in person.
-
Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Image below shows a search of Business Source Premier (in advanced search), with a filter applied to source type for news
Image below shows the specific ways to filter information within Business Source Premier. There are ways to limit by source type specifically for news.
-
ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI/Inform provides newspapers such as The Financial Times and The Wall Street Journal. Image below shows a keyword search and the application of a filter for Newspapers.
ABI/Inform has filter options for Source Types. Image below shows the options for filtering results.
-
Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
This is the Business Librarian's Favorite source! NOTE: Limited number of simultaneous users. We have 23 seats or licensed users at any one time. If the database does not log you on try again in a few minutes. If you have persistent issues with log-in connect with the CSUSM Business and Economics Librarian to help you (will work to trouble shoot and provide articles as able).
Multiple ways to find business magazines in this premium resource. Shown below is a Search Builder Search
Below shows search results with option to view results by source. Here you can select source types.
Sources allows you to select "by type" in the example below shows the sources being filtered to advertising/marketing/public relations
