Business & Economics Librarian
Business Databases for Scholarly Articles
Not all business databases contain scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles.
Below are subscription databases, for business, that contain scholarly articles.
-
ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
-
Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
-
Emerald FulltextProvides access to the fulltext of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.
-
Google Scholar CSUSM
Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
-
Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
-
Wiley Online Library
Access to abstracts and full text from journals, reference works, databases, and books. Disciplines covered include the life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, psychology, earth sciences, education, social sciences, humanities, business, and mathematics
GenAI and Scholarly Articles
Can't I just use a ChatBot or Google to find scholarly articles?
NO.
Chatbots are not trained on the full-text of scholarly articles. In fact Chatbots may claim that an article exists when in fact it doesn't. Chatbots invent and hallucinate sources; this adds to the level of challenge when using AI for research.
With some exception, most scholarly articles are not freely accessible to be located on the web (or AI) to the general reader.
These journal articles are behind paywalls, meaning if you find a scholarly articles on Google you will be asked by the publisher for money to read them. Instead use the library's premium subscription databases to locate articles. Remember too not to pay for articles. As we can use interlibrary load to borrow article from other institutions.