Skip to Main Content

FIN 331 Magemeneas

eBook Collections for Business

E-book collections, most useful for business

  • Hover over the i icon to read more about eBook titles in each collection. 

Selected Business e-book titles

Cover image of Understanding Cryptocurrencies: The Money of the Future

Understanding Cryptocurrencies: The Money of the Future

 

The book intends to provide a high level overview of cryptocurrencies to a new enthusiast by using layman language and limiting many of the technical aspects, providing a very condensed version of this vast development of digital currencies.
Blockchain is the new revolution after the Internet that is going to change how we do business today. Cryptocurrencies are the money of the future. These two statements are a positive affirmation from many corners around the world. The author provides a balance of introduction and depth regarding blockchain, hot cryptocurrencies, and their comparisons.
Bitcoin, being the pioneer, is discussed in greater detail. The reader will gain the basic idea of bitcoin mining, trading, and investing. With special interest in the various usages of blockchain and interest on traditional banking systems are also discussed. Source: Publisher 

Cover image of Cybersecurity Law: Protect Yourself and Your Customers

Cybersecurity Law: Protect Yourself and Your Customers

This book gives insight into the legal aspects of data ownership in the 21st century. With the amount of information being produced and collected growing at an ever accelerating rate, governments are implementing laws to regulate the use of this information by corporations. Companies are more likely than ever to face heavy lawsuits and sanctions for any misuse of information, which includes data breaches caused by cybercriminals.
This book serves as a guide to all companies that collect customer information, by giving instructions on how to avoid making these costly mistakes and to ensure they are not liable in the event of stolen information. Source: Publisher

Cover image of Blockchain hurricane : origins, applications, and future of blockchain and cryptocurrency

Blockchain hurricane : origins, applications, and future of blockchain and cryptocurrency

This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency.
The hype around blockchain technology is matched only by the innovation it inspires and the skepticism it provokes. This book gives business decision makers and students a clear overview of the history, current applications, and future potential of distributed ledgers and cryptocurrency.
It explores strengths and weaknesses, emerging opportunities, and perceived threats. Technical frameworks are presented in a business context to help strategists understand the risks and rewards of different approaches to blockchain implementation, and the decision factors in determining whether this is a viable solution to the problem at hand. Source:Publisher

Cover image of The presentation book for senior managers: an essential step by step guide to structuring and delivering effective speeches

The presentation book for senior managers: An Essential Step by Step Guide to Structuring and Delivering Effective Speeches

The book is a comprehensive guide covering all the essential ingredients for delivering engaging and persuasive presentations to a professional audience. This book covers everything from planning and structuring content to delivering with confidence.

Cover image of Financial Regulation and Compliance: How to Manage Competing and Overlapping Regulatory Oversight, + Website

Financial Regulation and Compliance: How to Manage Competing and Overlapping Regulatory Oversight, + Website

Financial Regulation and Compliance provides detailed, step-by-step guidance for the compliance professional seeking to manage overlapping and new regulatory responsibilities. Written by David Kotz, former Inspector General of the SEC with additional guidance provided by leading experts, this book is a one-stop resource for navigating the numerous regulations that have been enacted in response to the financial crisis. You'll learn how best to defend your organization from SEC, CFTC, FINRA, and NFA Enforcement actions, how to prepare for SEC, FINRA, and NFA regulatory examinations, how to manage the increasing volume of whistleblower complaints, how to efficiently and effectively investigate these complaints, and more. Detailed discussion of the regulatory process explains how aggressive you should be in confronting federal agencies and self-regulatory organizations and describes how commenting on issues that affect your business area can be productive or not. The companion website includes a glossary of terms, regulations and government guidance, relevant case law, research databases, and FAQs about various topics, giving you a complete solution for keeping abreast of evolving compliance issues. Source: Publisher

Cover image of Guide to Hedge Funds: What they are, what they do, their risks, their advantages, Second Edition

Guide to Hedge Funds: What they are, what they do, their risks, their advantages, Second Edition

Hedge fund managers are the new "masters of the universe." The best earn more than $1 billion a year and are so sought after that they can afford to turn investor money away. The funds they run have, to some extent, established an alternative financial system, replacing banks as lenders to risky companies, acting as providers of liquidity to markets and insurers of last resort for risks such as hurricanes, and replacing pension funds and mutual funds as the most significant investors in many companies—even in some cases buying companies outright. The revised and updated second edition of this lively guide sheds much needed light on the world of hedge funds by explaining what they are, what they do, who the main players are, the regulations affecting them, the arguments as to whether they are a force for good or bad, and what the future holds for them. Source Publisher

Cover image of Boom and bust banking: the causes and cures of the great recession

Boom and bust banking: the causes and cures of the great recession

Exploring the forceful renewal of the boom-and-bust cycle after several decades of economic stability, this book is a research-based review of the factors that caused the 2008 recession. It offers cutting-edge diagnoses of the recession and prescriptions on how to boost the economy from leading economists. The book concentrates on the Federal Reserve and its leading role in creating the economic boom and recession of the 2000s. Aimed at professional economists and readers well versed in the basic workings of the economy, it includes innovative proposals on how to avoid future boom-and-bust cycles. Source: Publisher

Negative Interest Rates (IN10481) from US Congressional Documents

CRS Insights on Negative Interest Rates by Marc Labonte 

Subjects: Finance