CSUSM Library Guides: FIN 331 Magemeneas: Business News

Ask Us Options	Research Help	Library Services Help
Chat
Email	Email Form	Email Form
Call/Text	Call: (760) 750-4391	Call: (760) 750-4348 Text: (760) 239-5106

Global Business News

The library has electronic access to business news and journals. Make sure to always log-in to the library for full access.

Visit the library's News & Newspapers Research Guide

Databases providing Business News sources:

Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
America's News Collection (NewsBank)
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. This collection includes access to San Diego Union-Tribune articles from from 1983-present.

Evaluate, Evaluate, Evaluate!

What is it? - Do you know what type of source you even located? Online newspaper, magazine, trade journal, blog, company website. Always ask what did I find?
Author(s) - Does the author have the “right” to write about this topic.
Owner/Sponsor - If there was no author, read the ABOUT US section of the website. What is the mission, vision, purpose of the article/site/information? If you can’t figure our author OR Owner - do NOT use the information.
Currency - In business currency it key. Use information that is as current as possible to help understand where an industry, business, company, market, may be going/headed.
Quality - how is the information reviewed? Is there an editor, peer-review process, some check on quality? Do they cite their sources (note - lookup cited sources for quality check).
Purpose - What is the intention of the site? To inform, persuade, to sell, or some other purpose? Does the site have an inordinate number of ads, cookies, etc. - why do you think this is?

Ask Us Options

Research Help

Library Services Help

Chat

Email

Call/Text

FIN 331 Magemeneas

Global Business News

Evaluate, Evaluate, Evaluate!