Scholarly Sources and Search Tips
- ABI/INFORM Complete Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Premier Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Factiva Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
- Emerald Fulltext Provides access to the fulltext of 100 journals in business and management, information science, and other disciplines.
- ScienceDirect Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
- Google Scholar CSUSM Link to citations and full-text from your CSUSM Library databases and beyond!
| Tips | Examples |
| Use keywords, not long search phrases |
Instead of searching for "How is blockchain impacting financial markets?" break down your search into the main keywords: blockchain, impact, financial markets |
|
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together Use AND to combine different keywords |
"blockchain technology" AND "financial markets" |
| Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords | (blockchain OR "digital ledger") |
| Look for ways to limit your search in the database | You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publication, subject |