Ask Us Options |
Research Help |
Library Services Help |
|---|---|---|
Chat |
|
|
|
|
Email Form | Email Form |
Call/Text |
Call: (760) 750-4391 | Call: (760) 750-4348 |
Use this portion of the guide to find both scholarly journal articles and trade magazine articles. Peer-reviewed journals publish articles that are often referred to as "scholarly", "scientific", "research", or "empirical" articles. Trade publications or magazines publish articles of interest but are not peer-reviewed sources. Make sure to check with your professor if you are unsure which type of articles you should be using for a particular assignment. If you have any questions about how to find them or where to search, please contact Talitha Matlin, STEM Librarian.
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
Contains citation Idexes for Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Book Citations from 2004to present. Select "Web of Science Core Collection" to conduct cited reference search.
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
These freely available online article repositories and databases link to journal and magazine articles, government reports, and more. Once you find an article or other source you are interested in, you may need to search for the title in the library catalog. Keep in mind that many of the sources contained in these repositories may not be peer-reviewed.
| Tips | Examples |
| Use keywords, not long search phrases |
Instead of searching for "How does climate change affect the migration patterns of seabirds?" break down your search into the main keywords: climate change, global warming, migration, seabirds, black-footed albatross, phoebastria nigripes **If you're doing research on a specific organism, it can be helpful to search for both the common and scientific nameI** |
|
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together Use AND to combine different keywords |
"climate change" AND "migratory patterns" |
| Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords | "black-footed albatross" OR "phoebastria nigripes" |
| Look for ways to limit your search in the database | You can often limit by type of article (scholarly, peer-reviewed, literature review, clinical trial, etc.), year of publication, subject |
