Background information in the research process
Background research is vital for developing a foundational understanding of your topic. It will also help you narrow and focus your research question, choose relevant keywords and search terms, and shape research direction.
In addition to general searching using your favorite search engine or Wikipedia, you may also review newspaper or magazine articles, and longform journalism. Biology encyclopedias can also be useful places to look for information because they are written by experts in the field and will also include references that will direct you to further reading on a given topic.
General Reference databases
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General Chemistry and Biochemistry Reference
These selected works and websites will help you quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
The resources below are in-depth guides to the research literature:
How to Find Chemical Information by Call Number: QD8.5 .M34 1998ISBN: 0471125792Publication Date: 1998-04-27
Using the Biological Literature by Call Number: QH303.6 .D38 2013ISBN: 1466558571Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Safety Data Sheets
(Formerly called Material Safety Data Sheets)
- Freely available SDS collectionsThis website lists collections of freely available SDS. Some website require registration.
- US Department of Labor - OSHA StandardsOccupational Safety and Health Administration standards
Useful background sources
Chem Sources U.S.A. by Publication Date: Latest year in Reference
- Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI)"A freely available dictionary of ‘small molecular entities’. The term ‘molecular entity’ encompasses any constitutionally or isotopically distinct atom, molecule, ion, ion pair, radical, radical ion, complex, conformer, etc., identifiable as a separately distinguishable entity. The molecular entities in question are either products of nature or synthetic products used to intervene in the processes of living organisms."
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physicsCall Number: QD65 .H3
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 27 Volume Set by ISBN: 0471484946Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by ISBN: 9780198506737Publication Date: 2000-02-24
