Background Information & Reference Sources
Everyone, whether they're an expert or someone new to engineering, will sometimes need to learn more about the background of a topic before beginning a research project or assignment. These selected books and websites will help you quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Books
Handbook of Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists by ISBN: 9781420010510Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Websites
- National Academy of EngineeringThe National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is an independent nonprofit institution whose mission is to promote a vibrant engineering profession and to marshal the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.
- National Technical Reports LibraryAccess to technical reports funded by the U.S. Federal Government.
- Science.govScience.gov is a portal to published research and development results by the U.S. Federal Government.
Magazines
- NAE The BridgeFrom The National Academy of Engineering, "The Bridge" publishes opinion and analysis on engineering research, education, and practice.
- Winds of ChangePublished by the American Indian Science and Engineering Society, Winds of Change "is the premier nationally distributed magazine with a single-minded focus on career and educational advancement for American Indians/Alaska Natives/Native Hawaiians/First Nations, with an emphasis on STEM.
Everyone, whether they're an expert or someone new to engineering, will sometimes need to learn more about the background of a topic before beginning a research project or assignment. These selected books and websites will help you quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Books
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition by ISBN: 9781259642586Publication Date: 2018-01-08
Websites
- Datasheet ArchiveThe Datasheet Archive "is the world's largest free resource of electronic component datasheets and application notes."
- Electric Power Research InstituteThe EPRI is an independent nonprofit organization that "conducts research, development, and demonstration projects for the benefit of the public in the United States and internationally."
Everyone, whether they're an expert or someone new to engineering, will sometimes need to learn more about the background of a topic before beginning a research project or assignment. These selected books and websites will help you quickly find a definition, explanation of a process, or a brief introduction to a concept.
Books
Websites
- Free On-line Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)FOLDOC is a free online computing dictionary that provides definitions useful in computing and computer engineering.
- WebopediaAn online IT and computer science reference that provides access to definitions, educational guides, and software and hardware reviews. Updated daily.
- The Internet Engineering Task ForceThe IETF develops open standards for Internet architecture to contribute to the smooth operation of the internet.
- IEEE Computer SocietyThe IEEE Computer Society is organization for professionals in computer science and engineering.
General Reference databases
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single hot issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Background information in the research process
Background research is vital for developing a foundational understanding of your topic. It will also help you narrow and focus your research question, choose relevant keywords and search terms, and shape research direction.
In addition to general searching using your favorite search engine or Wikipedia, you may also review newspaper or magazine articles, and longform journalism. Engineering encyclopedias can also be useful places to look for information because they are written by experts in the field and will also include references that will direct you to further reading on a given topic.