Standards
You may need to search for "a standard" while you are conducting your engineering research. According to ANSI, "a standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines, or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes, and services are fit for their purpose." (ANSI, IBR, 2021) Read on for information about standards and also links to collections of standards, which you can search to find individual standards.
Information about standards
- IEEE Standards DictionaryIncludes terms and definitions used in IEEE standards.
- The Internet Engineering Task ForceThe IETF develops open standards for Internet architecture to contribute to the smooth operation of the internet.
- Introduction to Standards: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) [YouTube video, 7:53]Overview of IEEE Standards presented by the Kelvin Smith Library at Case Western Reserve University.
Finding standards
- IEEE StandardsSearch IEEE Xplore to find standards by number, topic, or ICS code. This is the primary source for standards in electrical and computer engineering.
- American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) PortalThe IBR provides free online access to standards that have been used by the U.S. Federal Government in creating laws and regulations.
- ASTM Safety Standards Reading RoomASTM International provides free access to standards that are incorporated into U.S. Federal laws and regulations. Requires free registration on the organization website.
Patents
Patents for inventions grant property rights to the inventor. You may need to search for patents to see if something has already been invented or not. If you intend to create something to sell, you should search patents to see what has already been invented and how you would need to differentiate your invention.
Information about patents
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office - Patent BasicsThe USPTO provides a number of resources to learn more about patents and the patenting process.
- Patents and Patentability TutorialThis tutorial from the University of Minnesota Libraries provides a good overview of what patents are and what makes something patentable.
- Patent Tutorials CollectionThe PennState Libraries provide a collection of patent-related tutorials.
Finding patents
Finding and using patents is a skill you will build as you use patents more and more. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office recommends following a Seven Step Strategy for conducting your patent searches.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeSearch the Patent Full-Text Database (PatFT), which provides full text access to U.S. patents from 1976.
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) PortalSearch and file for international patents. Requires free registration on the WIPO website.
- Espacenet Patent SearchEspacenet provides free access to patents from the European Patent Office.
- Google Patents SearchProvides full text access to many U.S. and international patents.
