OECD Regions and Cities
- OECD Regions and Cities at a Glance 2020Online access is available.
City Sources From Analysts
- Global Cities Report 2020 by AT KearneyRanks cities using a Global Cities Index (GCI) and Global Cities Outlook (GCO)
- Urban world: Mapping the economic power of citiesThe McKinsey Global Institute report "MGI’s current research agenda focuses on three broad areas: productivity,
competitiveness, and growth; the evolution of global financial markets; and the
economic impact of technology"
Google Strategy for Cities data
global business districts
Strategies:
Search for the “official” city website.
Look for sites that represent the domain for your country. For example .FR is for France
_________________________________________________________________________________
Example of a search result
Do note that many times the website will be in another language – look to see if there is a “translation” button
Showing you the translate button on a Google Result
Often you can right click and then ask for translate
City Data
OECD data tables for city
- Metropolis.orgThe web site of an international association of major metropolitan cities and regions (population over one million) worldwide. Provides data (direct link: https://indicators.metropolis.org/) about urban agglomerations, city population, and urban growth as well as a number of links to urban-related web sites. No U.S. cities are members, but the rest of the world is well represented.
The World Bank
- New World Bank Report Covering 10,000 Cities Shows Shape of Urban Growth Underpins Livability and Sustainable Growth"The new report, Pancakes to Pyramids – City Form for Sustainable Growth, analyzes the dynamic, two-way relationship between a city’s economic growth and the floor space available to residents and businesses. It finds that a city is most likely to be its best version when its shape is driven by economic fundamentals and a conducive policy environment – namely, a robust job market, flexible building regulations, dependable public transit and access to essential services, public spaces, and cultural amenities." Source: World Bank website
Premium Library Databases - Country Analysis
Below is a list of premium subscription databases that contain reports relevant to analyzing a country.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteConduct an advanced search in this database - in the search bar, enter name of your country, In the document type enter Country report. Relevant to BUS 302 are Country reports published by the EIU "Economists Intelligence Unit"
In advanced search for the database you can enter a search term and select country report.
Below is an image of an example of a type of a report for a country
- Business Source PremierUse the option to search for a county report. A suggested resource for BUS 302 is the Political Risk Yearbook report from PRS Group
Interface for BSP showing Country Reports are available
Image below shows the two tabs used to locate country reports
Example below is a result for a 75 page country report for Ireland
Mergent Market Atlas (Library Database)
To locate a Country Profile try Mergent Market Atlas
- Mergent Market Atlas
Mergent Market Atlas offers a wealth of detail - the hallmark of all Mergent Products - on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Mergent Market Atlas delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by professionals under LSEG's Refinitiv and FTSE Russell brands.
Passport Euromonitor (Library Database)
In the context of this course - look to understand the Political, Economics, Socio-demographic, Technological, Legal. Environmental
PESTLE
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)Economic, marketing, and demographic statistics for the United States, Western Europe, and Asia. Includes country profiles and consumer market data. Market research reports on international consumer, industrial, and service markets.
Notes on use of this database: CSUSM Student USE Only. You must agree to terms and conditions before entering the database.
There are different menus, approaches to access data, analysis, and dashboards. Write down the steps to use to obtain your information!
TOP MENU APPROACH
Searching an industry? Step #1 Click Industries, Step #2 Select a category (Consumer products, Services, or Supply). Step #3 From the new page shown, scroll down and use the "Country Reports Datagraphic" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.
Interested in Economies?
Step #1 Click Economies, Step #2 Select a category (Business Dynamics, Economies, finance, and trade, Industrial, or sustainability).
Step #3 From the new page scroll down to locate the "Country Reports" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.
Interested in Consumers?
Step #1 Click Consumers, Step #2 Select a category (Digital Consumers, Households, Income and Expenditure, Lifestyles, Population).
Step #3 From the new page scroll down to locate the "Country Reports" Tile. Step # 4 Select a category and geography, hit go.
Videos and Help
- Passport User Guide (.pdf)Guide provides an overview of the use of Passport. Shows use of the Global Menu and Search Tiles. This guide helps with use of categories and application of geographies.
GlobalEDGE (Michigan University Website)
Resource covered in Library Orientation
From this resource you should have been able to identify criterion for evaluating a country for export.
- globalEDGEExcellent resource to begin your journey on understanding different countries. globalEDGE is created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University
Try one of the ways to gain insights on a country.
World Factbook (by CIA)
- World Factbook (by the CIA) "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields."
Use the drop down to select a country that you wish to learn more about.
Challenge Question: How Much Coastline does Brazil have?
Nation Master (website)
- NationMasterScroll down the page to Country Information. Select a country for facts and stats. Use top left menu to open a drop down to compare selected country to another.