CFRA Industry Surveys
Market Research Reporter (one year access starts Feb 8, 2021)
Electronic access to Industry Reports by CFRP (previously known as S & P Capital IQ Industry Surveys)
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators. Industry Surveys does look at Porters 5 forces model.
In Print access to the Surveys are located on the 3rd and 4th Floors of the Library
Industry Surveys: CFRA
- 3rd Floor - Reference HG4915 .S652
IBISWorld
- IBISWorld Industry ResearchIndustry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.
Keyword search or use NAICS code (IBISWorld Reports uses 5 digits of a 6 digit NAICS code).
Reports beginning with OD - are "specialized reports," often they cover a smaller section of an industry.
Some industries will provide 5 digits of a NAICS code plus a letter, for example 51121e- Video Game Software Publishing in the US
Official Help from IBISWorld - Must be logged into the library to view information
Industry Research Reports (Video and information of sections)
- Using Porter’s Five Forces to Develop Business StrategiesIndustry Insiders articles by Kiera Outlaw, Jul 20 2020. Covers that IBISWorld reports are aligned with the Five Forces Model.
FirstResearch (by Mergent)
- First Research for Industries (Mergent Intellect)Use First Research to find industry key issues using Industry Profiles, State Profiles, Trending news and Social media feeds, Call Prep Sheets (Sample Q and A to industry executives.
NOTE: To get to the database click to enter and then, Continue, Continue, Submit.
Keyword search or use 2, 4, or 6 digit NAICS code to locate industry reports.
Database provides ability to view: executive insights, critical issues, industry opportunities, and more.
Meeting with a stakeholder? Check out the "Call Prep questions" which help start conversations with different stakeholders (CEO, COO, CFO).
Diving deeper into the industry check out the Websites section: Provides a robust list of industry related associations, organizations, and publications.
ABI/INFORM Complete (by Proquest)
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and countries reports. Among the potential useful reports are:
BMI Country Industry reports
BMI Global Oil Market Reports
BMI Industry Insight Reports
BMI Risk Reports
Looking for more on how to use this and other ProQuest databases visit the following Course Guide. Listed on here are PPTX slides, recorded learning modules, sample searches, etc.
Business Source Premier
- Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Contains Marketline Reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Note: Page attention to dates, currency as some reports could be older.
To access the help information, and tutorials below you must be logged into the library.
Factiva
- Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
Navigate the top level menu to Companies/Markets and use the dropdown to Industry. Click on major headings (covers large industries) for a one page industry snapshot. From Industry pane see companies, subjects, regions, and news. You can also use the search builder to locate news on an industry.
Mergent Online
- Mergent Online
A financial analysis database of over 25,000 publicly traded US and international companies over 30 years. Major industry reports. Search and compare companies by long term debt, profitability ratios, and many more. Create custom financial comparison charts. A century of annual reports.
Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the Industry Reports. Use for MAJOR industries only. Provides Global Coverage. Useful for PUBLICALY traded companies. Search for broad industry name.
Local Industry Resources [Websites]
- San Diego Economic Development Industry ReportsWebsite for San Diego Economic Development Corporation produces and sponsors research on key industries in our region. Reports of interest: Industry Studies, Economic Impact Studies and Economic Intelligence: Reoccurring research releases including the economic pulse (monthly employment data) and economic snapshot (a quarterly comparison of San Diego to other metros) (Source: San Diego EDC).
- San Diego Area Governments [SANDAG]For information which impacts San Diego and surrounding areas SANDAG is a great resource. Look at the Resources section: Demographics & Other Data, Maps and GIS, Regional Models, and Publication. Programs & Projects: Transportation, Land use and Regional Growth, Biking and walking, public safety, borders, environment, economics and finance, regional airport access, and NAVWAR revitalization.
- San Diego Tourism Authority [SDTA]SDTA provides industry research relevant to the tourism industry such as: lodging performance, Tourism industry facts, overall industry in San Diego County, forecasts, and visitor profiles. Note: SDTA is a non-profit, review the mission, purpose, and vision for more on their organization.
Market Research Resources [Library]
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)Economic, marketing, and demographic statistics for the United States, Western Europe, and Asia. Includes country profiles and consumer market data. Market research reports on international consumer, industrial, and service markets.
Looking for Financial Analysis
- Bizminer
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)The Statistical Abstract of the United States (online edition) by Proquest is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Census - Business & Economy [Website]
- Census Business Builder , Small Business EditonTool for determining the "best" location for your business. Search business type by industry title, keyword or NAICS code. Then select either find my location OR enter state, county, city/town, or Zip code, Lastly view either: Go to Map OR Create Report
- Census Business Builder - Regional Analyst Edition - 3.0.1This tool starts with a geographic region. Select: primary state, county, city/town, or zip code. Will produce a map with your selected region. Use top menu to select variables such as: consumers/residents, business (annual), business (quarterly), workforce, consumer spending. Subcategories for each of these variables will be shown. There is an option to create a report for your selected region.
- Annual Business Survey (ABS)ABS Survey provides annual data on select economic and demographic characteristics of employer businesses. Note: Use the left hand navigation. See the about for purpose and users of this survey. (Source: US Census)
- Annual Retail Trade Survey (ARTS)The Annual Retail Trade Survey (ARTS) produces national estimates of total annual sales, e-commerce sales, sales taxes, end-of-year inventories, purchases, total operating expenses, gross margins, and end-of-year accounts receivable for retail businesses located in the United States. (Source: US Census, About the Annual Retail Trade Survey)