- Bizminer and Bizminer Tutorials -- Look under Resources to find short video tutorials prior to class.
- Census Business Builder For small businesses. Use for business plan data and potential market
The Firms Environment--Industry
- Use the Industries tab of this guide. Use a database to locate a report and read: for market, product/services, opportunities and threats in the industry.
- Use the Google Search for Business on this guide to find more.
- Visit Bureau of Labor Statistic (BLS) page for Economy at a glance San Diego and Metro Statistical Area (MSA) for San Diego-Carlsbad
- Take a look at San Diego Workforce Partnership. Issue reports and provides a space for labor market resources.
Market Share
- Census Business Builder For small businesses. Use for business plan data and potential market
- Passport Euromonitor For consumer products, company and brand share in US and global market.
Market Trends
- Association websites (National Restaurant Association for example), references to associations in news articles. See the Industry Reports for specific industries.
- Visit Business news premium sources tab on this guide. Trade magazine websites AND library article databases-the only place to find special reports you find these in the news databases, see the tab
Demographics and Market Potential
- For this class market demand is assumed.
Business Plans
Writing: See Ebook tab for additional titles
Butler, D. (2014). Business Planning for New Ventures: A Guide for Start-ups and New Innovations.
Samples (don't pay for anything):
- SBDC Net is the official National information clearning house for the US Small Business Administration.
How to Write a Business Plan, Where to find a business plan, Business Plan templates.
- Business Plans Index (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh) External
This is an index of business plans that are available online and in print format. Organized by industry categories.
- Write Your Business Plan (U.S. Small Business Administration)
Learn how to write a business plan quickly and efficiently with a business plan template.
-
PRINT: Business Plan Handbooks from GALE (Library 3rd REFERENCE)
Operating Expenses
U.S. Economic Census Detailed Retail Trade and Operating Expenses
Related business and industry, manufacturing, and wholesale available as well.
The Firm
- *** California Business Portal (Featured) ***Small Business Assistance, State Incentives, Registration & Permits (CalGold), Workforce. Extensive business assistance and guides for starting and growing a business with all state requirements
- *** CalGOLD *** California Permit Assistance by city, county, and industry
- California Franchise Tax Board page for business.
- SBA Search for Business Licenses and Permits Enter zip code and regulated business if applicable.
COMPETITION
- ReferenceUSA (known now as Data Axle) (library database)
Occupational / Employees
- San Diego Workforce Partnership Job seekers, employers, training and education, economic indicators, industry statistics
- O*NET Occupational Outlook (Dept of Labor)
- Occupational outlook handbook HF5381 .U62 REFERENCE
- Salary.com
Product or Service
- Passport Euromonitor time permitting (Consumer purchase behavior).
- Visit Business news premium sources tab on this guide. Craft search strategy to return information relevant to your needs.
Suppliers
- GlobalSpec (Free registration). Global product and service suppliers.
- Kompass (Business 2 Business)
- Thomas Global Registry (Solusource) Global supplier registry
- ThomasNet Manufacturing suppliers, limit by radius
Tax forms
Business Expenses
- *** Bizminer *** Library financial start up and business plan database. Update 6/18 now has Z-scores for credit scores and financial viability.
- Industry Statistics Portal Lands you on all census data sources for an industry
- Monthly and Annual Retail Trade See the Historical Detailed tables at the bottom of the screen for Business Expenses.
- Business and Industry Data by Geography Great landing page for details below
Location, Location, Location
- LoopNet Commercial Real Estate Listings by category
Commercial Real Estate Brokerages
See San Diego Business Journal Book of Lists (Reference Shelves) for list of the 19 Commercial Real Estate Brokerages in San Diego County (other metro areas available)
- Commercial Real Estate figures--San Diego Regional Economic Development Council