What industry will your new venture be in?
Sources listed here are library subscription content to industry reports, government, and organizations related to industry.
Use a database to locate a report and read: for market, product/services, opportunities and threats in the industry.
NAICS Codes (Census.gov)
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)"The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy." Source www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
Link to FAQs about NAICS Codes
CFRA Industry Surveys
Electronic access to Industry Reports by CFRP (previously known as S & P Capital IQ Industry Surveys)
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators. Industry Surveys does look at Porters 5 forces model.
IBISWorld (Library Subscription) NEW INTERFACE
- IBISWorld Industry ResearchIndustry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.
Keyword search or use NAICS code (IBISWorld Reports uses 5 digits of a 6 digit NAICS code).
Read for more on recent changes to the interface, this includes new names for sections of IBISWorld Reports
Reports beginning with OD - are "specialized reports," often they cover a smaller section of an industry.
Some industries will provide 5 digits of a NAICS code plus a letter, for example, 51121e- Video Game Software Publishing in the US
Official Help from IBISWorld - Must be logged into the library to view information
Getting Started (Video and information of sections)
- Using Porter’s Five Forces to Develop Business StrategiesIndustry Insiders articles by Kiera Outlaw, Jul 20 2020. Covers that IBISWorld reports are aligned with the Five Forces Model.
FirstResearch by Mergent (Library Subscription)
- First Research for Industries (Mergent Intellect)Use First Research to find industry key issues using Industry Profiles, State Profiles, Trending news and Social media feeds, Call Prep Sheets (Sample Q and A to industry executives.
Mentioned in Workshop
NOTE: To get to the database click to enter and then, Continue, Continue, Submit.
Keyword search or use 2, 4, or 6 digit NAICS code to locate industry reports.
Database provides ability to view: executive insights, critical issues, industry opportunities, and more.
Meeting with a stakeholder? Check out the "Call Prep questions" which help start conversations with different stakeholders (CEO, COO, CFO).
Diving deeper into the industry check out the Websites section: Provides a robust list of industry related associations, organizations, and publications.
ABI/INFORM Complete (by Proquest)
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and countries reports. Among the potential useful reports are:
BMI Country Industry reports
BMI Global Oil Market Reports
BMI Industry Insight Reports
BMI Risk Reports
Looking for more on how to use this and other ProQuest databases visit the following Course Guide. Listed on here are PPTX slides, recorded learning modules, sample searches, etc.
Business Source Premier
- Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Contains Marketline Reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Note: Page attention to dates, currency as some reports could be older.
To access the help information, and tutorials below you must be logged into the library.
Factiva
- Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
Navigate the top level menu to Companies/Markets and use the dropdown to Industry. Click on major headings (covers large industries) for a one page industry snapshot. From Industry pane see companies, subjects, regions, and news. You can also use the search builder to locate news on an industry.
Mergent Online
- Mergent Online
A financial analysis database of over 25,000 publicly traded US and international companies over 30 years. Major industry reports. Search and compare companies by long term debt, profitability ratios, and many more. Create custom financial comparison charts. A century of annual reports.
Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the Industry Reports. Use for MAJOR industries only. Provides Global Coverage. Useful for PUBLICALY traded companies. Search for broad industry name.
