Citation Tools in Databases
Many databases have copy-and-paste citation tools, including OneSearch, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and more. This means that you may be able to get your references formatted by the database where you found them. Be aware that there are often errors in these citations so you will often need to modify these formatted references to ensure they follow the APA, MLA, Chicago and other citation style accurately.
Look for the following words or icons when checking if a database has a citation tool:
- Cite
- Citation
- Cite this source
- Citation tools
- Export
- An icon, like quotation marks or a piece of paper
| EBSCOhost | JSTOR | OneSearch | Google Scholar |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
 |
 |
 |
Citation Generators
There are many applications available to help you create citations. Some databases also provide citation formatting assistance. These can be convenient, but they are NOT 100% accurate. ALWAYS check that the citation is formatted correctly according to the official style guide.
The following are all free citation generators:
- Zotero from Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media.
- Zotero is both a desktop application and a browser extension that easily manages your sources. It collects citation information, organizes sources, and creates bibliographies in almost all citation styles.
- Click on this detailed guide to be taken through the basics of installation, capturing citations, creating bibliographies, and to learn some tips and tricks that will help you get the most out of Zotero.
- KnightCite Citation Service from the Hekman Library of Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan.
- Cite Fast includes APA, MLA, and Chicago.