Scholarly Sources and Search Tips
| Tips | Examples |
| Use keywords, not long search phrases |
Instead of searching for "How is the shortage of aluminum cans impacting the craft beer industry?" break down your search into the main keywords: shortage, aluminum cans, impacting, craft beer industry |
|
Use quotation marks (" ") to keep phrases together Use AND to combine different keywords |
"aluminum cans" AND "craft beer industry" |
| Use OR to combine similar/associated keywords |
crowlers OR "aluminum cans" Note: crowlers are a type of can used in the craft beer industry. |
| Look for ways to limit your search in the database | You can often limit by type of article (scholarly and peer-reviewed), year of publication, subject |
Dive Deeper into Industry
- ABI/INFORM Complete Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Create a search strategy to learn more information about an industry.
- Business Source Premier Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Create a search strategy to learn more information about an industry
- Factiva Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
Craft a search strategy in the search builder. Note: A change of date is usually needed as the default searches for the most current three months.
