Business & Economics Librarian
News Databases
- FactivaCovers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
Note: Limited to 23 simultaneous users. Factiva uses taxonomy (headings) known as "Dow Jones Intelligent Identifiers (DJID)" for searching. These are unique to Dow Jones Products.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteBusiness, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source PremierFull text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Selected News Titles
- San Diego Business JournalCall Number: 3rd Floor - Newspapers Newspaper (Latest 6 months)Available Online.
- The San Diego Union-TribuneCall Number: 3rd Floor - Newspapers Newspaper (Latest 2 months)Available Online.
- The Wall Street JournalCall Number: 3rd Floor - Newspapers Newspaper (Latest 2 months)Available online.
- NewsBankNewsBank is a provider of several databases containing primary source documents, including current and historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications and more. This link provides access to all library databases provided by NewsBank, including Americas News (which contains current access to the San Diego Union-Tribune and several thousand other US newspapers), the Archive of Americana, a historical primary source and newspaper collection, the Americas Historical Newspapers collection, American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Identifying Local news with Google
News sources can help inform you about your region. Note: Start with library sources for news first and then move to looking online using a search engine such as Google.
While the library does have subscription access to many newspapers, there may be "hyper-local" online news sites and newspapers with an online presence.
You may need to conduct a search in Google to identify and evaluate potential sources.
You can used the "News filter" from a keyword search. Evaluate your source before use.
Use the Tools space - to filter the results to within a specific time frame.
Keywords COVID-19 for Business
SARS-CoV-2 is (the virus) that causes COVID-19 (disease). The disease was declared a pandemic in March of 2020.
Visit World Health Organization on Naming the Coronavirus for further reading.
Potential Keywords for use database searches
COVID-19, Novel Coronavirus, Coronaviruses, CARES Act, Coronavirus relief bill, pandemics, quarantine, shelter in place, social distancing, disease control
Subject Headings in Business Databases
Identify subject headings from article records as you keyword search OR use of the thesaurus (found within a database)
Combine keyword and subject headings for narrower results.
Factiva:
-
Novel Coronaviruses
ABI/Inform:
-
COVID-19
-
Coronaviruses
Business Source Premier:
-
COVID-19 pandemic
-
Coronavirus aid, relief & economic Security act (U.S.)
-
COVID-19 for works on the respiratory illness caused by the novel coronavirus
-
SARS-CoV-2 for works on the virus