Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ebooks

Opening EBSCO ebooks

Follow the steps below to open an EBSCO ebook in a browser:

A record for an ebook with arrows pointing to full text options.

 

  • If you are off-campus, you will have to login using your CSUSM username and password.

Sign-in for Off-Campus Access screen

 

  • Once you click on "Full text available at" or "Online access may be available" you will be taken to a page that will show you which database platforms host the book.  There might be more than one in which case you can choose any of them.  In the example below, you can see that it is hosted by EBSCO Academic ebook Collection. Click on that.

The record for an ebook with an arrow pointing to the database the book is hosted at.

 

  • On the next page you will be given options for how you can open the book on your device.  Some options might include PDF Full Text and/or EPUB Full Text.  Click on one of those.

The record for a book with a box around the options for opening it.

 

  • The book will open on your device.  You can page through the entire book, clicking where the red arrow is pointing to below, or you can download a chapter at a time.

An opened ebook with an arrow pointing to where you can click to turn the pages.

 

How to Download an ebook from the EBSCO ebook Collection

If you see a Download icon (as shown in the image below) that means you also have the option to check-out and download the ebook and read it on your computer when you are not connected to the Internet, or transfer it to your Adobe Digital Editions-compatible ebook Reader device. 

The record for an ebook with a box around Full Download to show where to click.

How to Open an ebook from the EBSCO ebook Collection (Video)