What is social entrepreneurship?
Social entrepreneurs are business owners that develop a startup with the goal to make a social or environmental impact.
Social Entrepreneurship, Social Innovation eBooks (selected) Selected Entrepreneurship Journals (CSUSM Log-in required)
Selected Physical Books or Open Access Titles
The Airbnb story : how three ordinary guys disrupted an industry, made billions ... and created plenty of controversy
Library
Available , 5th Floor - Stacks ; TX911.2 .G35 2017
Academic entrepreneurship : how to bring your scientific discovery to a successful commercial product
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD62.5 .M37 2017
Sprint : how to solve big problems and test new ideas in just five days
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.29 .K63 2016
Business model generation : a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.28 .O778 2010
A more beautiful question : the power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD53 .B448 2014
Business plans handbook. a compilation of business plans developed by individuals throughout North America
Physical title - 52 volumes
3rd Floor - Reference HD62.7 .B865 v.52
How to write a business plan
4th Floor - Stacks HD30.28 .M3839 2016
Streaming Media from CSUSM Library Selected (CSUSM Log-in required)
Triumph to Trauma: The Entrepreneurial Educational Experience
A dramatic, inspiring, and empowering interactive educational video series inspired by the broadcast documentaries Trauma to Triumph, and featuring 10 entrepreneurial journeys. There are 32 different video modules running five to eight minutes in length and designed for classroom or virtual learning. These stories and lessons share the virtues of entrepreneurship and its power in overcoming life’s trials, achieving life goals, and enhancing career readiness. The case studies feature a multicultural group of individuals that faced such challenges as racism, genocide, poverty, war, child abuse, oppression, disease, and sexism, yet rose to well-being through the power of entrepreneurship.
Maria Pacheco: A Case Study on Social Business
A series of 18 videos - Maria Pacheco is the founder of Wakami, a social business that designs and exports products that are handmade by Guatemalan women to the global market, as well as providing professional training to groups of rural women. In this series, she talks about creating an environmental value chain, empowering communities, fair wages, and more.
Social Business
Social business is one that uses business to solve social problems. Equity holders may gradually recoup their investments, costs, and profits without taking dividends. Bangladeshi Nobel Laureate Professor Muhammad Yunus shows how this works across the business spectrum, including multinational companies, very small enterprises, and even a circus company in Cambodia.
Try these headings
Subject headings are assigned to books and ebooks in the library's catalog.
Click the link below to view a list of titles with the subject heading
- Ecopreneurship
- eco-innovation
- Social change
- Social entrepreneurship -- Case studies.
- Social responsibility of business-Case studies
- Social Entrepreneurship
- Social responsibility of business
- Sustainable development
- Sustainable entrepreneurship
(Adapted from Duke University's Economics Research Guide)
Selected Publications for Social Entrepreneurship, Nonprofits Selected Entrepreneurship Journals (CSUSM Log-in required)
- Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice “Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice (ETP) is a leading scholarly journal in Entrepreneurship. The journal's mission is to publish original conceptual and empirical research that contributes to the advancement of entrepreneurship. ETP is consistently ranked as one of the most influential business journals of the Journal Citation Reports and by the Financial Times as one of the top journals.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).” (Source: SAGE)
- Stanford social innovation review Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) is an award-winning magazine and website that covers cross-sector solutions to global problems. SSIR is written by and for social change leaders from around the world and from all sectors of society—nonprofits, foundations, business, government, and engaged citizens. SSIR’s mission is to advance, educate, and inspire the field of social innovation by seeking out, cultivating, and disseminating the best in research- and practice-based knowledge. With print and online articles, webinars, conferences, podcasts, and more, SSIR bridges research, theory, and practice on a wide range of topics, including human rights, impact investing, and nonprofit business models. SSIR is published by the Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society at Stanford University. (Source: SSIR)
- The journal of entrepreneurial finance "The Journal of Entrepreneurial Finance (JEF) was established in 1991 and is a premier source of academic research related to small business finance and entrepreneurship. The journal's audience, both as authors and as readers, includes academicians and practitioners in the field everywhere. Relevance, originality, rigor, timeliness, and quality are among the key criteria used for making decisions on submitted manuscripts. The JEF publishes both print and digital editions. There is neither a submission fee nor a publishing fee. To ensure maximum impact and reach, the journal is indexed in Digital Commons, ProQuest, EconPapers, EconStor, RePEc, as well as other indices and repositories." (Source: Pepperdine University, Publisher)
- Journal of Entrepreneurship The Journal of Entrepreneurship is a multidisciplinary forum for the publication of articles and research and discussion of issues that bear upon and enfold the field of entrepreneurship. Topics appropriate and related to entrepreneurship include intrapreneurship, managership, organisational behaviour, leadership, motivation, training and ethical/ moral notions guiding entrepreneurial behaviour. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Source: SAGE
- Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship The Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship is dedicated to exchanging the latest academic research and practical findings on all aspects of innovation and entrepreneurship in spatial context and over time. The journal explores why some regions grow and others stagnate; considers the dynamics of entrepreneurship in global context, with an eye toward emerging markets; and evaluates the effects and implications of innovation and entrepreneurship in a transdisciplinary context that takes both historical evolution and geographical location into account. The Journal addresses questions driving policy and decision-making at the company, industry, national and regional levels–Which cultural traits foster or impede innovation? How is wealth distributed and concentrated?–and probes whether innovation emerges differently across such sectors as health, education, technology, and the social and physical sciences. Articles analyze patterns, triggers, catalysts and accelerators to innovation, gauging their impact on future research, practice, and policy. The Journal also takes interest in the ways that technology and the new organizational approaches it often enables are impacting the field of education, broadly considered in all of its forms to include a spectrum of age-specific (pre-K through post-secondary and career training) and traditional physical structures, as well as online and blended models. (Source: Springer)
- Nonprofit and voluntary sector quarterly Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly publishes high-quality peer-reviewed manuscripts from a diverse array of disciplinary and methodological perspectives on nonprofits, philanthropy, voluntary action, and civil society across the globe. The journal publishes full-length articles, research notes, and book reviews. NVSQ, published bi-monthly, is the official journal of the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA). (Source Sage Journals)
- Journal of Global Responsibility *Most recent year not available "Journal of Global Responsibility is the premier journal that publishes original and high-quality theoretical and empirical research in advancing our understanding of global responsibility issues in today's interconnected and interdependent world." Emeraldgrouppublishing
- World Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Sustainable Development "World Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Sustainable Development (WJEMSD) is a forum for academics, practitioners and policymakers from around the world to exchange concepts, research, and best practices about entrepreneurship and management. The journal aims to integrate the study of these disciplines to achieve sustainable development (SD) and help to stimulate debate amongst scholars, researchers and policymakers across the world with a view to defining common, effective responses to tomorrow’s challenges. Given the apparently contradictory needs of economic growth and environmental conservation, it comes as no surprise that the impact of the global financial crisis on SD has had such a powerful influence in contemporary discussions on the future of our world. " (Source: World Association for Sustainable Development; WASD)
- Social Enterprise Journal *Most recent year not available Social Enterprise Journal is the first journal to focus specifically on the social enterprise aspect of entrepreneurial activity. It encourages interdisciplinary and critical studies of social enterprise to deepen our understanding of social enterprise and social entrepreneurship.
Selected Research Databases (CSUSM Log-in required)
Use these databases to research social entrepreneurship topics.
- ABI/Inform Complete (Proquest) The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Emerald Fulltext Provides fulltext access to 100 journals in business, management, information science and other disciplines.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) Search across EBSCO's GreenFile - which focuses on all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects
- Informs Online INFORMS offers a wide array of content and information about Operations Research and Analytics to meet the needs and interests of researchers, practitioners, students, business leaders, policy-makers, and the public. Source: Publisher
- JSTOR Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
- Project Muse Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- ScienceDirect Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
- SpringerLink Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.
- Sociological Abstracts Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
- Web of Science Contains citation indexes for Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Book Citations from 2004 to present. Select "Web of Science Core Collection" to conduct cited reference search.