Nonprofit, Fund raising, etc. Books (selected from Library)
Nonprofit Kit for Dummies
Read to get an overview of nonprofits and then move into steps to create a nonprofit organization
eBooks from Candid Learning (courtesy listing for outside source)
This is an outside resource listed as a courtesy. "Candid offers a growing digital collection of eBooks and audiobooks on social sector- and philanthropy-related topics, curated by Candid’s Online Librarian team. This free, public collection is available to anyone through OverDrive and the Libby app*, and can be accessed remotely from any computer, smartphone, tablet, or e-reader."
Sign-up for your own card to access Candid's ebooks, view this .pdf for how to sign up
The Nonprofit Industry (CSUSM log-in required)
Working with a nonprofit or community organization requires an understanding of how nonprofit organizations work.
- IBISWorld Industry Research Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC. In-depth Industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain management. Contains some international reports for UK, Australia, China, and Global.
- First Research for Industries (Mergent Intellect) Use First Research to find industry key issues using Industry Profiles, State Profiles, Trending news and Social media feeds, Call Prep Sheets (Sample Q and A to industry executives.
Find a report or 990 by a nonprofit
Looking for some type of financial information on a non-profit organization?
- Look to see if they publish a report (some non-profits publish an annual report of sorts)
- If they don't provide any financial information look to see if they filed a 990. (What is a 990, from Classy.org)
- The release of 990 forms had been very behind, this is now changing (The 990s are here. Why that's a big deal and what happens now by Candid)
Having trouble finding your nonprofit:
- Just like regular companies they may be doing business under one name, but have officially filed the non-profit with a different name.
- Visit the official non-profit's website and do some investigation. Look for pages labeled "about us," "mission," "purpose," "vision," and/or "news." This may reveal the name they are "registered as."
- Candid's 990 Finder "Search our database of individual 990 forms of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofits." (Source: Candid.org)
- Propublica Results include only organizations that filed a tax return — for any fiscal year — from calendar year 2014 forward. (Source: Propublica site)
Locate a Nonprofit with GuideStar Search by Candid
Source used by individuals in the nonprofit industry.
Sign up for an account at Candid.org. This allows you to access a "free" version of Guidestar a directory of nonprofit organizations.
Search Guidestar (the free version has some limitations)
Click on an entry of your choosing. Learn more about the organization using the menu provided. Not all entries will be as "complete" as others.
Try these headings for more titles
Subject headings are assigned to books/ebooks in the library's catalog.
A "Subject heading" search finds titles on that subject. You can use the filters to sort the results by date, full text online, etc. Here are a few headings of potential interest to get you started
Nonprofit organizations
Fund raising
Fund raisers
proposal writing for grants
Charities
Charity organization
philanthropists
volunteerism
endowments
Subject Subheadings - you can add to your subject search after the names of states, regions, and main subjects. For instance: Nonprofit Organizations -- management; another example is Charities -- finance; and philanthropists -- United States
- finance
- moral and ethical aspects
- management
- computer network resources
- marketing
- internet marketing
- public relations
- united states -- case studies
(Adapted from Duke University's Economics Research Guide)
Selected Research Databases
- Academic Search Premier This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- JSTOR Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
- Proquest Search all of ProQuest's databases.
- Social Services Abstract Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Abstracts This database provides access to social work and human services journals from 1965 to the present. Topics include addictions, therapy, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, mental health, education, and human services.
- Sociological Abstracts Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.