Product Design Books (selected) (CSUSM Log-in required)
Selected Design Physical Books
Academic entrepreneurship : how to bring your scientific discovery to a successful commercial product
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD62.5 .M37 2017
Sprint : how to solve big problems and test new ideas in just five days
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.29 .K63 2016
Business model generation : a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.28 .O778 2010
Try these headings
Subject headings are assigned to books/ebooks in the library's catalog.
A "Subject heading" search finds titles on that subject. You can use the filters to sort the results by date, full text online, etc. Here are a few headings of potential interest to get you started
- product design
- industrial design
- commercial product
- green design
- sustainable design
- sustainable development
- design for sustainability
- systems design
- new products
- technological innovations
- eco-design
Subject Subheadings - you can add to your subject search after the names of states, regions, and main subjects. For instance: new products -- management
- marketing
- management
- social aspects
- planning
(Adapted from Duke University's Economics Research Guide)
Disciplinary Databases (CSUSM Log-in required)
The library subscribes to a wide range of databases that can help you research your project idea. If you need help identifying a database for your need reach out to the librarians for help.
- IEEE XploreIEEEcalls itself the world's largest profession association for the advancement of technology. IEEE is also a major publisher responsible for nearly one third of the technical publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE's publishing output includes nearly 200 journals and magazines, thousands of papers from the 1300+ annual conferences, plus standards and books. The Library is fortunate to have a subscription to IEEE Xplore providing access to all of this important content. Be sure to visit the IEEE Self-Paced Tutorials website to learn about all the special features in Xplore.
- ScienceDirectProvides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
- Web of ScienceContains citation Idexes for Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Book Citations from 2004to present. Select "Web of Science Core Collection" to conduct cited reference search.
- Biological AbstractsA complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
- PubMed @ CSUSMThe premier database of world biomedical literature on clinical medicine and preclinical research. Medline provides a more user-friendly interface, but less updated content.
- AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics)Scitation hosts journals and conference proceedings from AIP (American Institute of Physics) Publishing and AIP member societies. Topics covered include physics and related disciplines.
Link to add video of a search
- SciFinder (Requires personal registration)First-Time Registration Link: https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7D852910X86F35040X712EA56E52BDFE4923 Only once registered, login toSciFinder using: https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/ SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. First-time users of SciFinder: You must register for an account using your CSUSM email account. Once registered, you can access SciFinder on- or off-campus using the SciFinder Login link. Off-campus, you will be required to sign into EZProxy and then sign into SciFinder with your personal account.