(CSUSM log-in required)
CSUSM students, faculty, and staff use your CSUSM credentials to access electronic resources remotely.
Community | Alumni users read about electronic resources access and about community borrower's cards
Handbooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Reference (CSUSM Log-in required)
Download a Canvas
- Business Model Canvas Download a Business Model Canvas from Strategyzer
- Value Proposition Canvas Download a Value proposition canvas from strategyzer
Magazines (CSUSM Log-in required)
Entrepreneur
Online via library subscription databases
Library (physical holdings)
Available , 4th Floor - Periodicals ; HF5001 .I6744
Wired Magazine
Online via library subscription databases
Library (physical holdings)
Available , 4th Floor - Periodicals ; QA75.5.W57
Forbes
Online via library subscription databases
Library (physical holdings)
Available , 4th Floor - Periodicals ; HF5001 .F6
The Economist
Online via library subscription databases
Library (physical holdings)
Available , 4th Floor - Periodicals ; HG11 .E2
Inc.
Online via library subscription databases
Bloomberg Businessweek
Online via library subscription databases
Money
Online via library subscription databases
Fast Company
Online via library subscription databases
Selected Entrepreneurship eBooks (CSUSM Log-in required)
Selected Entrepreneurship Physical Books
Business plans handbook. a compilation of business plans developed by individuals throughout North America
Physical title - 59 volumes
5th Floor - Oversize ; HD62.7 .B865 v.59
Sprint : how to solve big problems and test new ideas in just five days
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.29 .K63 2016
Business model generation : a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD30.28 .O778 2010
How to write a business plan
4th Floor - Stacks HD30.28 .M3839 2016
A more beautiful question : the power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD53 .B448 2014
The Airbnb story : how three ordinary guys disrupted an industry, made billions ... and created plenty of controversy
Library
Available , 5th Floor - Stacks ; TX911.2 .G35 2017
Academic entrepreneurship : how to bring your scientific discovery to a successful commercial product
Library
4th Floor - Stacks ; HD62.5 .M37 2017
Streaming Media from CSUSM Library (CSUSM Log-in required)
The entrepreneur's guide to success : follow these tips.
Starting and running a business takes more than a good idea and the desire to not have a boss.
Own the Room
Many beauty and skincare brands have long ignored women of color, offering limited shade ranges and formulations. No more. Three entrepreneurs talk about creating new products for all types of skin, and targeting an untapped customer base. Release date 2019, 31 mins.
How Lush took on the cosmetics industry
The company has been hand-making soap, bath bombs and body products for almost a quarter of a century but it is only now that ethical brands have become so much a part of the mainstream. The FT's Daniel Thomas profiles the cosmetics company.
Imperfect Foods and Full Harvest CEOs on Markets for Surplus Food
Philip Behn, CEO of Imperfect Foods, and Christine Moseley, founder and CEO of Full Harvest, discuss how their companies create new markets for surplus and imperfect food with WSJ's Jesse Newman.
Selected Entrepreneurship Journals (CSUSM Log-in required)
- Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice “Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice (ETP) is a leading scholarly journal in Entrepreneurship. The journal's mission is to publish original conceptual and empirical research that contributes to the advancement of entrepreneurship. ETP is consistently ranked as one of the most influential business journals of the Journal Citation Reports and by the Financial Times as one of the top journals.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).” (Source: SAGE)
- Stanford social innovation review Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) is an award-winning magazine and website that covers cross-sector solutions to global problems. SSIR is written by and for social change leaders from around the world and from all sectors of society—nonprofits, foundations, business, government, and engaged citizens. SSIR’s mission is to advance, educate, and inspire the field of social innovation by seeking out, cultivating, and disseminating the best in research- and practice-based knowledge. With print and online articles, webinars, conferences, podcasts, and more, SSIR bridges research, theory, and practice on a wide range of topics, including human rights, impact investing, and nonprofit business models. SSIR is published by the Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society at Stanford University. (Source: SSIR)
- The journal of entrepreneurial finance "The Journal of Entrepreneurial Finance (JEF) was established in 1991 and is a premier source of academic research related to small business finance and entrepreneurship. The journal's audience, both as authors and as readers, includes academicians and practitioners in the field everywhere. Relevance, originality, rigor, timeliness, and quality are among the key criteria used for making decisions on submitted manuscripts. The JEF publishes both print and digital editions. There is neither a submission fee nor a publishing fee. To ensure maximum impact and reach, the journal is indexed in Digital Commons, ProQuest, EconPapers, EconStor, RePEc, as well as other indices and repositories." (Source: Pepperdine University, Publisher)
- Journal of Entrepreneurship The Journal of Entrepreneurship is a multidisciplinary forum for the publication of articles and research and discussion of issues that bear upon and enfold the field of entrepreneurship. Topics appropriate and related to entrepreneurship include intrapreneurship, managership, organisational behaviour, leadership, motivation, training and ethical/ moral notions guiding entrepreneurial behaviour. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Source: SAGE
- Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship The Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship is dedicated to exchanging the latest academic research and practical findings on all aspects of innovation and entrepreneurship in spatial context and over time. The journal explores why some regions grow and others stagnate; considers the dynamics of entrepreneurship in global context, with an eye toward emerging markets; and evaluates the effects and implications of innovation and entrepreneurship in a transdisciplinary context that takes both historical evolution and geographical location into account. The Journal addresses questions driving policy and decision-making at the company, industry, national and regional levels–Which cultural traits foster or impede innovation? How is wealth distributed and concentrated?–and probes whether innovation emerges differently across such sectors as health, education, technology, and the social and physical sciences. Articles analyze patterns, triggers, catalysts and accelerators to innovation, gauging their impact on future research, practice, and policy. The Journal also takes interest in the ways that technology and the new organizational approaches it often enables are impacting the field of education, broadly considered in all of its forms to include a spectrum of age-specific (pre-K through post-secondary and career training) and traditional physical structures, as well as online and blended models. (Source: Springer)
- Journal of Small Business Management The primary purpose of the Journal of Small Business Management (JSBM) is to publish scholarly research articles in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship. As the official journal of the International Council for Small Business (ICSB), the JSBM is recognized as a primary instrument for projecting and supporting the goals and objectives of this organization, which include scholarly research and the free exchange of ideas. The journal, which is circulated in 60 countries around the world, is a leader in the field of small business research. (Source: Taylor and Francis)
- Venture Capital "Venture Capital brings together research on entrepreneurial finance undertaken by academics from different disciplines and conducted from various methodological and philosophical standpoints and using a variety of research methods. It is a forum for communication between academic researchers, venture capital practitioners and policy-makers that raises the knowledge of venture capital activity and other types of entrepreneurial finance on a global basis. Its coverage is international, focusing not only on established financial capital markets such as the USA and the European Union, but also on emerging markets." (Source: Taylor & Francis)
- World Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Sustainable Development "World Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Sustainable Development (WJEMSD) is a forum for academics, practitioners and policymakers from around the world to exchange concepts, research, and best practices about entrepreneurship and management. The journal aims to integrate the study of these disciplines to achieve sustainable development (SD) and help to stimulate debate amongst scholars, researchers and policymakers across the world with a view to defining common, effective responses to tomorrow’s challenges. Given the apparently contradictory needs of economic growth and environmental conservation, it comes as no surprise that the impact of the global financial crisis on SD has had such a powerful influence in contemporary discussions on the future of our world. " (Source: World Association for Sustainable Development; WASD)
- Social Enterprise Journal *Most recent year not available Social Enterprise Journal is the first journal to focus specifically on the social enterprise aspect of entrepreneurial activity. It encourages interdisciplinary and critical studies of social enterprise to deepen our understanding of social enterprise and social entrepreneurship.
Try these headings
Subject headings are assigned to books/ebooks in the library's catalog.
A "Subject heading" search finds titles on that subject. You can use the filters to sort the results by date, full text online, etc. Here are a few headings of potential interest to get you started
- Entrepreneurship
- Social Entrepreneurship
- Business Incubators
- Business Planning
- New Business Enterprises
- Start up
- Venture capital
Subject Subheadings - you can add to your subject search after the names of states, regions, and main subjects. For instance: New Business Enterprises - Management; another example is small business - personnel management; and entrepreneurship - economic aspects
- economic aspects
- finance
- law and legislation
- management
- personnel management
- planning
(Adapted from Duke University's Economics Research Guide)
Selected Research Databases (CSUSM Log-in required)
Use these databases to research social entrepreneurship topics.
- ABI/Inform Complete (Proquest) The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- Emerald Fulltext Provides fulltext access to 100 journals in business, management, information science and other disciplines.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) Search across EBSCO's GreenFile - which focuses on all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects
- Informs Online INFORMS offers a wide array of content and information about Operations Research and Analytics to meet the needs and interests of researchers, practitioners, students, business leaders, policy-makers, and the public. Source: Publisher
- JSTOR Contains (EXCEPT for the latest five years) core scholarly journals in sociology, history, economics, political science, mathematics, African-American & Asian studies, literature, humanities, music, and biological, health & general sciences.
- Project Muse Full-text coverage for hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- ScienceDirect Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.
- SpringerLink Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.
- Sociological Abstracts Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
- Web of Science Contains citation indexes for Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Book Citations from 2004 to present. Select "Web of Science Core Collection" to conduct cited reference search.